Marks 21 consecutive months of employment growth Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – After adding 32,000 seasonally adjusted non-farm jobs in March, the Texas economy added a total of 294,100…

Critical Texas drought forecast may alter summer crop planting decisions

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas High Plains is under extreme drought and if current conditions continue, producers need to make…

AgriLife Extension offers new agricultural leasing fact sheet

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tdowell@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas landowners have a new tool when it comes to determining agricultural leasing rates. Tiffany Dowell Lashmet,…

Feedyard greenhouse gas study analyzes emissions, mitigation factors

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ken Casey, 806-677-5600, kdcasey@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – A week spent in a feedyard pen is helping researchers gain a better understanding of greenhouse gas…

Dryland wheat crop hanging on; root development is key

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, QXue@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The dryland wheat crop is hanging on by a thread, of sorts. Root development on wheat plants…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 10, 2018

Drought conditions affecting herd stocking rates in West Texas, Panhandle Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bruce Carpenter, 432-336-8585, bb-carpenter@tamu.edu Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu Dr. Ted McCollum, 806-677-5600,…

Agriculture under secretary Northey to speak at beef conference April 24 in Canadian

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, Andy.Holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – U.S. Under Secretary for Farm and Foreign Agricultural Service Bill Northey will be the keynote speaker April 24…

Eikner fills AgriLife Extension agriculture position in Potter County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Megan Eikner, 806-373-0713, megan.eikner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Megan Eikner has been hired as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent…

AgriLife Extension sets Cotton Marketing Workshop April 4 in Lubbock

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jackie Smith, 806-746-6101, j-smith34@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a Cotton Marketing Workshop on April 4 in…

Drones help researchers monitor High Plains wheat

Moisture-deficient winter offers prime drought-tolerance measurements Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jackie Rudd, 806-677-5600, jcrudd@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Research dryland wheat variety nursery near Bushland…

Feedyards advised to begin pen surface cleaning now due to dry weather

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Brent Auvermann, 806-677-5600, b-auvermann@tamu.edu AMARILLO – A Texas A&M AgriLife researcher is advising feedyard managers to begin their spring manure harvesting or dust…

Beef influence on dairy cattle could improve marketing options, bottom line

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ted McCollum, 806-677-5600, ted.mccollum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Dairy owners might be able to add more to their bottom line if they introduce a beef…

TRICARE changes to be focus of March 28 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – “TRICARE Reforms in 2018” will be the topic of the Military Families Learning Network,…

AgriLife Extension offers publications for wildfire preparation, safety

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Tim Steffens, 806-651-2781, tsteffens@wtamu.edu Dr. Morgan Russell, 325-653-4576, morgan.russell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Preparing for wildfire response ahead of time is one of the most…

Hemphill County beef conference April 24-25 to address drought, environmental conditions

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, Andy.Holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – As a cattle rancher, knowing when and what resources are available on the land is the key to…

Grain-grading workshops set for May 1, May 2 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Two grain-grading workshops hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service — one May 1 and one May…

Upton County Ag Day set for March 29 in Rankin

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Raymond Quigg, 432-693-2313, r-quigg@tamu.edu RANKIN – The Upton County Ag Day conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is set for March…

Panel highlights importance of dairy workforce training, documentation

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.eduTiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tdowell@tamu.edu AMARILLO – After a number of U.S. Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement, or ICE, audits…

AgriLife Extension sets Reagan County Ag Day on March 27 in Big Lake

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Chase McPhaul, 325-884-2335, pcmcphaul@ag.tamu.edu BIG LAKE – Wind development, agricultural law news and the latest in range herbicides are three of the topics…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas –Texas’ seasonally adjusted unemployment rate was 4.0 percent in January and remains below the U.S. unemployment rate of 4.1 percent. The Texas economy added 240,500…