Region 16 STEM teachers tour AgriLife Research farm

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Brent Auvermann, 806-677-5600, bauvermann@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas A&M AgriLife Research hosted a group of about 20 science, technology, engineering and math, or STEM,…

Farm bill discussions set for High Plains cotton producers June 19-20, July 12

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host another round of cotton meetings in the High Plains June…

Water well trainings, screenings set for July in the Panhandle

Contacts: Drew Gholson, 979.845.1461, dgholson@tamu.edu John W. Smith, 979.845.2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu Diane Boellstorff, 979.458.3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu The Texas Well Owner Network will present its Well Informed and Well Educated programs in the…

TRICARE mental health care changes highlight June 13 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Military Families Learning Network’s Military Caregiving program will host a free 60-minute professional…

Community Resource Expo set June 14 in Booker

Others planned in the Panhandle through November Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, aburkham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is partnering with Panhandle…

Post-emergent herbicide timing key in corn production

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Weed control in corn is important to profitability, but producers need to be aware of herbicide application…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 5, 2018

Crop, cattle conditions declining around much of the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Curtis Adams, 940-552-9941, curtis.adams@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Emerging drought…

Vogel hired to support AgriLife Extension vet sciences certificate program

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Tyler Vogel, 806-677-5600, tyler.vogel@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Tyler Vogel hopes to help youth pursue their passion for veterinary sciences as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

Corn producers receiving Syngenta litigation settlement notices have options

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tdowell@tamu.edu AMARILLO – U.S. corn producers may be seeing a light at the end of the tunnel related to the…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – The Texas economy added 39,600 seasonally adjusted nonfarm jobs in April, which marked 22 consecutive months of employment growth. Over the year, Texas added…

Bipartisan Budget Act changes to cotton program require producer action

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-5913, joutlaw@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Decisions must be made for the 2018 cotton crop being planted now, according to a Texas A&M…

Resistant varieties, beneficial predators can help producers win sugarcane aphid battle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ada Szczepaniec, 806-354-5806, ada.szczepaniec@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – While sugarcane aphids have been difficult to suppress in past years due to their natural traits and…

Congressman Mac Thornberry Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. – Last week, the House Armed Services Committee passed the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2019 (NDAA), which authorizes spending…

Grisham named AgriLife Extension family, community health agent for Hutchinson County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Faith Grisham, 806-878-4026, faith.grisham@ag.tamu.edu STINNETT – Sharing the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service message is a passion of Faith Grisham’s, one that has landed…

Farm bill effects on cotton producers to be discussed at May 14-16 meetings

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jackie Smith, 806-746-6101, j-smith34@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host a series of cotton meetings…

Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research awards $5 million to address water scarcity

Texas A&M AgriLife Research joins others to advance irrigation innovation Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Brent Auvermann, 806-677-5600, b-auvermann@tamu.edu DENVER – Texas A&M AgriLife Research is poised to…

New AgriLife Extension specialist hired to expand health programs in the Panhandle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Miquela Smith, 806-677-5600, miquela.smith@ag.tamu.edu Rusty Hohlt, 979-458-7553, rrhohlt@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Regional support for chronic disease prevention education is expanding into the Texas A&M AgriLife…

Marks 21 consecutive months of employment growth Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – After adding 32,000 seasonally adjusted non-farm jobs in March, the Texas economy added a total of 294,100…

Critical Texas drought forecast may alter summer crop planting decisions

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas High Plains is under extreme drought and if current conditions continue, producers need to make…

AgriLife Extension offers new agricultural leasing fact sheet

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tdowell@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas landowners have a new tool when it comes to determining agricultural leasing rates. Tiffany Dowell Lashmet,…