CRP risk management decision aid available through AgriLife Extension

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5667, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – As Conservation Reserve Program, or CRP, contracts expire, landowners must decide if they should re-enroll acreage, convert it back to farmland…

Rancher risk management tool offered, sign-up deadline Nov. 15

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Pasture, Rangeland and Forage, or PRF, insurance can be a way to protect Texas landowners’ perennial forage for livestock…

AgriLife Research study: Fumonisin not detrimental to beef cattle diets

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Jenny Jennings, 806-677-5600, Jenny.Jennings@ag.tamu.eduDr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Increasing levels of dietary fumonisin do not adversely affect feedlot cattle performance, according to…

Calving and rebreeding nutrition program set Oct. 22 in Quitaque

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Mason Carter, 806-823-2522, mason.carter@ag.tamu.edu QUITAQUE – The Briscoe County Beef Pre- and Post-Calving and Rebreeding Nutrition Program will be hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife…

Ranchers Leasing Workshop set for Nov. 8 in Waco

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5681, tdowell@tamu.edu WACO – A half-day Ranchers Leasing Workshop set for Nov. 8 in Waco will cover all aspects of leasing…

AgriLife Extension to present grazing lease meeting Oct. 8 in Claude

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Derek Williamson, 806-226-3021, mikeal.williamson@ag.tamu.edu CLAUDE – Producers from throughout the Texas Panhandle are invited to a Grazing Lease Meeting Oct. 8 in Claude hosted by…

Texas A&M AgriLife Extension agents claim national food safety award

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, angela.burkham@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – A group of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agents from the Panhandle received the Food Safety…

Forage sorghum field day demonstrates high yielding varieties, sugarcane update

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service forage sorghum trials west of Amarillo provide…

AgriLife Extension hires plant pathologist to serve Amarillo region

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ken Obasa, 806-677-5600, ken.obasa@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Dr. Ken Obasa has been hired as a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service plant pathology specialist in…

Not just animal feed: Sorghum packs nutritious punch for people

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact; Lizabeth Gresham, 806-373-0713, lizabeth.gresham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – “How many of y’all eat sorghum?” Lizabeth Gresham, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent in Potter County, discusses the…

Olson, Jarvis inducted into Ag Economics Honor Registry

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Mark Olson (’71) and Britt Jarvis (’85) are the newest inductees into the Texas A&M University Department of Agricultural Economics Tyrus…

Women’s land stewardship conference offered Oct. 1-2 in Fredericksburg

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu FREDERICKSBURG – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer a two-day land stewardship conference, “Empowering Women – New Stewardship…

Powerful Tools for Caregivers series to begin Oct. 1 in College Station

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A six-week “Powerful Tools for Caregivers” educational program designed to help family caregivers take care of themselves while…

Brush, wildlife, leasing meeting set Sept. 25 in Quitaque

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Mason Carter, 806-823-2522, mason.carter@ag.tamu.edu QUITAQUE – A Brush Control, Hunting and Land Leasing, and Mule Deer Regulations Meeting will be hosted by the Texas A&M…

Menard County Range Workshop set for Oct. 3

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu MENARD – The 2018 Menard County Range Workshop sponsored by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Menard County Soil and Water Conservation…

Texas A&M AgriLife high tunnel study expands

Team to add flower, vegetable seed production Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@tamu.edu Many interested producers showed up to learn more about high tunnels at…

AgriLife Extension to offer Building Healthy Workplaces training Oct. 17 in Amarillo

Conference offers blueprint for improving employee wellness Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Miquela Smith, 806-677-5600, miquela.smith@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host “Building a Healthy Workplace:…

Ag law workshop set for Oct. 3 in Big Spring

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Tommy Yeater, 432-264-2236, t-yeater@tamu.edu BIG SPRING – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Howard, Martin, Midland and Andrews counties and Ag Workers Insurance…

We’ve entered the home stretch of what is sometimes referred to in Austin as “The Interim.” Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — It’s been just a little over a year since…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 5, 2018

Wheat acres could rise slightly as prices trend upward; winter moisture expected Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-845-3041, cbneely@tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION…