Dr. Patrick Stover appointed sole finalist for Texas A&M AgriLife Research director

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The sole finalist for director of Texas A&M AgriLife Research said he will strengthen long-standing commitments to applied and fundamental research…

Ag Law in the Field program set for Sept. 17 in Nacogdoches

Lease agreements, estate planning, fence laws to be covered Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Ricky Thompson, 903-560-7711, ricky.thompson@ag.tamu.edu NACOGDOCHES – An Ag Law in the Field program, which will…

42nd annual Randall County Ag Day and Crops Tour set Aug. 28

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu   CANYON – The 42nd annual Randall County Ag Day and Crops Tour hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife…

Media Advisory: Tariffs, cattle market outlook highlight Beef Cattle Short Course Aug. 6-8 in College Station

Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Beef export markets and their importance to cow-calf producers will highlight the general session of the 64th Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short…

Carter named AgriLife Extension agent in Briscoe County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Mason Carter, 806-823-2522, mason.carter@ag.tamu.edu SILVERTON – Mason Carter started work Aug. 1 as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent…

New Texas A&M vice chancellor continues statewide tour of AgriLife facilities

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Texas A&M’s new vice chancellor and dean of agriculture and life sciences Dr. Patrick Stover continued his statewide tour at the Texas A&M…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 31, 2018

Pest numbers climbing in South Plains,Panhandle summer crops Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Infestations of damaging pests are increasing on corn,…

AgriLife Extension to offer QuickBooks training in Amarillo, Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5667, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer Panhandle District QuickBooks Pro Short Courses on Aug. 21-22 in…

Grazing, hunting, livestock leases topic of Aug. 2 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tiffany.dowelllashmet@ag.tamu.eduPete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Grazing, Hunting and Livestock Leases will be the title of an Aug. 2…

High tunnel vegetable, flower seed production highlight Aug. 9 special event

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Vegetable Production and High Value Horticultural Crop Seed Production will be a special afternoon breakout session Aug. 9…

AgriLife Extension fills horticulture position in Randall County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Erin Jones-Gray, 806-468-5543, erin.jones@ag.tamu.edu CANYON – Erin Jones-Gray began July 2 in a dual appointment as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service horticulture…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 24

Record high temperatures around the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Lee Tarpley, 409-752-2741, ltarpley@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Most areas of the state have set or tied high…

20th annual Wheatheart Wheat Conference set Aug. 9 in Perryton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Scott Strawn, 806-435-4501, sstrawn@ad.tamu.edu PERRYTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host the 20th annual Wheatheart Wheat Conference at 8:30 a.m. Aug.…

State has experienced 24 consecutive months of employment growth Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — The Texas Workforce Commission released its latest monthly economic report for the Texas economy, which…

July 18 webinar to highlight post-trauma changes

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Military Families Learning Network’s Military Caregiving program will host a free  professional development…

Dryland cotton suffering while irrigated cotton looks good

Lack of moisture causes some producers to replant Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.eduDr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Much like producers’ fields across the…

Sugarcane aphid populations popping up in High Plains sorghum fields

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Like the popup showers that have dotted the state, the sugarcane aphid is starting to show up all…

Summer Crops/OAP Center Pivot Irrigation Field Day set Aug. 9 at Bushland

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, qxue@ag.tamu.edu BUSHLAND – A Summer Crops/OAP Center Pivot Irrigation Field Day will be hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife and the…

New AgriLife Extension dairy specialist located in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Piñeiro, 806-677-5600, juan.pineiro@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Dr. Juan Piñeiro, veterinarian, joined the faculty at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in…

Connecting agriculture to human health mission of new Texas A&M vice chancellor

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Most people don’t understand the role agriculture plays in their health and daily lives, but Texas A&M University’s new vice chancellor for Agriculture…