Rolling Plains Cotton and Precision Ag Field Day set Oct. 12 near Noodle

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Steve Estes, 325-823-2432, saestes@ag.tamu.edu            NOODLE – The Rolling Plains Cotton and Precision Ag Field Day is set for 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. Oct. 12…

Urban Quail Appreciation Day slated Oct. 5 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752 paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dale Rollins, Dale.Rollins@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Maureen Frank, 830-278-9151, mgfrank@tamu.edu Amanda Gobeli, 979-845-1851, Amanda.Gobeli@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, San Antonio…

Emergency meetings scheduled following reports of fumonisin in Texas corn

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5663, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Tom Isakeit, 979-862-1340, t-isakeit@tamu.edu AMARILLO — Meetings have been scheduled on Sept. 27 in Dimmitt and Dumas to…

Emergency meetings scheduled following reports of fumonisin in Texas corn

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5663, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Tom Isakeit, 979-862-1340, t-isakeit@tamu.edu AMARILLO — Meetings have been scheduled on Sept. 27 in Dumas and Dalhart to…

Lampasas River Watershed Partnership meeting Oct. 12 in Lampasas

Contact: Lisa Prcin, 254-774-6008, lprcin@brc.tamus.edu LAMPASAS – Residents interested in the Lampasas River Watershed Protection Plan are invited to attend the Lampasas River Watershed Partnership meeting Oct. 12. The meeting…

Edgewood ISD elementary students get opportunity to Learn, Grow, Eat and Go!

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Ruby Zavala, 210-631-0400, ruby.zavala@ag.tamu.eduAngie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO –  More than 200 students from Alonso S. Perales Elementary School in the Edgewood Independent School…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 19, 2017

Sugarcane aphids not a major problem for prepared Texas sorghum producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu; Danielle Sekula, 956-878-8317, danielle.sekula@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Most sorghum…

International beef initiative launched by Texas A&M animal science

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Cliff Lamb, 979-845-1543, gclamb@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A new international beef initiative is underway by the Texas A&M University department of animal science,…

Sorghum silage field day adds nutritional education to crop production

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Lizabeth Gresham, 373-0713, lizabeth.gresham@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – When producers showed up to the annual Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service forage…

Water well owner training set for Sept. 26 in New Braunfels

Contact: Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu NEW BRAUNFELS — Anyone interested in private water well management is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training Sept. 26…

Centex Beef Symposium Sept. 29 at Swinging B Ranch in Axtell

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AXTELL – Live cattle demonstrations, a ranch tour and ribeye steak dinner will be the featured activities at the Centex Beef Cattle Symposium Sept. 29…

Winter forages can reduce costs and boost cow/calf weight gains, experts say

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Banta, 903-834-6191, jpbanta@ag.tamu.edu; Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Planting successful winter forage pastures can reduce supplemental feed costs and boost cow/calf…

Texas, out-of-state 4-H’ers pitch in on Hurricane Harvey recovery efforts

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Toby Lepley, 979-845-1212, toby.lepley@ag.tamu.edu Candace Moeller, 361-526-2825, candace.moeller@ag.tamu.edu Kyle McManus, 361-767-5223, kyle.mcmanus@ag.tamu.edu Meredith Miller, 361-265-9203, meredith.miller@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION, Texas – Hundreds of youth in…

Rainwater harvesting turf management training rescheduled to Oct. 5 in Seguin

Contacts: John W Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu Reagan Hejl, 979-845-5252, Reagan.hejl@tamu.edu Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu Ben Wherley, 979-845-1591, b-wherley@tamu.edu Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu SEGUIN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service…

RNA discovery could help boost plant heat, drought tolerance

Writer: Gabe Saldana, Gabe.Saldana@ag.tamu.edu, 956-408-5040 Contact: Dr. Liming Xiong, Liming.Xiong@ag.tamu.edu, 972-952-9246 DALLAS — Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientists have discovered a ribonucleic acid, or RNA, that can increase the thale…

Researchers stumped by plants with multiple chromosomes set January meeting to collaborate

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. David Byrne, 979-845-9500, dbyrne@tamu.edu               COLLEGE STATION — Some of the world’s most beloved plants — coffee, bananas, potatoes, chrysanthemums and…

Rebuild Texas Update From John Sharp

Three weeks has passed since Hurricane Harvey. Governor Abbott’s team to rebuild Texas after Harvey gathered for an update on Thursday. Texas A&M system chancellor John Sharp, who is in…

New Texas A&M Wildlife, Fisheries and Ecological Sciences Building grand opening celebrated at College Station

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Sept. 15 marked the grand opening of the new Wildlife, Fisheries and Ecological Sciences Building at 534 John Kimbrough Blvd. on…

New Texas A&M Wildlife, Fisheries and Ecological Sciences Building grand opening celebrated at College Station

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Sept. 15 marked the grand opening of the new Wildlife, Fisheries and Ecological Sciences Building at 534 John Kimbrough Blvd. on…

Neighborly love: Hay, animal supplies trucked in from all over to assist Texas Hurricane Harvey ag producers

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu NOME – The outpouring of support from neighboring states has been overwhelming, said Mike Doguet, owner of Doguet’s Diamond D Ranch Turf Farm in Nome,…