Junior Master Gardener Learn, Grow, Eat & Go! Program takes shape in Houston schools

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu HOUSTON – Houston Independent School District elementary students are learning how to plant, tend and harvest nutritious vegetables thanks to the Learn, Grow, Eat &…

Healthy workplace blueprint workshop set for Oct. 17 in Weatherford

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Kathy Smith, 817-598-6168, Kathy.Smith@ag.tamu.edu WEATHERFORD – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host a “Building a Healthy Workplace: A How-To Blueprint” workshop Oct.…

Fall Agriculture Program slated for Oct. 5 in Comfort

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Steven Zoeller, 830-249-9343, szoeller@ag.tamu.edu COMFORT — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Kendall County will present its Fall Agriculture Program from 8…

AgriLife Extension hires plant pathologist to serve Amarillo region

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ken Obasa, 806-677-5600, ken.obasa@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Dr. Ken Obasa has been hired as a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service plant pathology specialist in…

Not just animal feed: Sorghum packs nutritious punch for people

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact; Lizabeth Gresham, 806-373-0713, lizabeth.gresham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – “How many of y’all eat sorghum?” Lizabeth Gresham, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent in Potter County, discusses the…

Farm Tour, agriculture program slated Oct. 19-20 in San Angelo area

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, Erin.Kimbrough@ag.tamu.edu Makenzie McLaurin, 979-862-1913, Makenzie.McLaurin@ag.tamu.edu The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service helps current and former military service members with information and…

AgriLife Extension entomologists: Fire ants, mosquitoes to be more prevalent after rains

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Robert Puckett, 979-458-0853, rpuck@tamu.edu Dr. Sonja Swiger, 254-968-4144, slswiger@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – With recent rains subsiding in many parts of the state and…

Olson, Jarvis inducted into Ag Economics Honor Registry

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Mark Olson (’71) and Britt Jarvis (’85) are the newest inductees into the Texas A&M University Department of Agricultural Economics Tyrus…

Williamson County Crops Conference slated for Oct. 16 in Taylor

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tyler Coufal, 512-943-3300, tyler.coufal@ag.tamu.edu TAYLOR – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Williamson County will present its Crops Conference Oct. 16 at the…

Producer participation requested in AgriLife Extension predator survey

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Bill Thompson, 325-657-7306, w-thompson@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The 2018 Predator Survey by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will paint a more accurate picture…

Women’s land stewardship conference offered Oct. 1-2 in Fredericksburg

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu FREDERICKSBURG – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer a two-day land stewardship conference, “Empowering Women – New Stewardship…

Study shows ‘precision nutrition’ may help prevent non-alcoholic fatty liver disease

Texas A&M, Central Texas Veterans Health Care Systems, others collaborate on study Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Chaodong Wu, 979-458-1521, cdwu@tamu.edu Dr. Gianfranco Alpini, 254-743-1044, galpini@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION…

Food managers certification, training set Oct. 11-12 in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Kay Davis, 806-775-1740, kay.davis@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Lubbock County will offer a Professional Food Manager Certification Training Course Oct.…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 18, 2018

Producers, homeowners battling armyworms Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Hay and forage producers and homeowners around the state are battling armyworms following…

New AgriLife Extension horticulture agent hired in Lubbock County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Christina Reid, 806-775-1740, ext. 1747, christina.reid@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Christina Reid knew when she moved back to Lubbock she wanted to work as the Texas…

South Texas Risk Management Workshop set for Oct. 3 in Sinton

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jason Ott, 361-767-5217, jason.ott@ag.tamu.edu SINTON – Agricultural producers looking for answers related to today’s commodity prices should plan to attend the South Texas Risk…

Farm Day at the Fair welcomes school groups for hands-on agriculture education

The the official registration webpage for Farm Day at the Fair is available online at https://tinyurl.com/statefairfarmday. Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.eduContact: Elizabeth Rudd, 214-904-3056, Elizabeth.Rudd@ag.tamu.edu     DALLAS — The Texas…

10th Annual CenTex Beef Cattle Symposium Sept. 28 in Cleburne

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Justin Hale, 817-556-6370, justin.hale@ag.tamu.edu CLEBURNE – Central Texas cattle producers will hear the latest updates on the cattle market and beef demand, plus herd…

AgriLife Extension to host Western Anadarko Oil & Gas Conference Oct. 2 in Canadian

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, Andy.Holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Western Anadarko Basin Oil & Gas Conference will be held Oct. 2 in the…

Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program workshop Sept. 27 in Bryan

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292, ext. 205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 972-952-9672, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu BRYAN – The Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program of the Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host…