Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 14, 2018

Wet conditions continue to slow cotton harvest, reduce quality Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu Dr. John Robinson, 979-845-8011, jrcr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Rain continues…

AgriLife Extension offers continuing education units Nov. 30 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present its annual winter continuing education program on Nov. 30…

High Plains Ag Conference set Dec. 7 in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Robert Scott, 806-775-1740, rj-scott@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The annual High Plains Ag Conference will be hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service on Dec.…

Cattle tick, handling demonstrations featured at 47th South Texas Cow-Calf Clinic

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu BRENHAM – Ranchers working cattle this fall and winter, or surveying pastures and wildlife, need to be mindful of ticks harboring on livestock and forage…

MEDIA ADVISORY: Texas A&M Human Behavior Lab to showcase technology at Nov. 16 open house

Contacts: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Eye tracking, facial expressions and other human emotions are integral parts of consumer purchasing studies and other social science evaluations conducted by…

Registration open for Birding the Border program

April 22-26 program to feature sites in Kinney, Val Verde counties Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Maureen Frank, 830-278-9151, mgfrank@tamu.edu Emily Grant, 830-774-7591, emily.grant@ag.tamu.edu DEL RIO – Registration is open…

Texas A&M’s Wu honored with national teaching award

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Ben Wu, 979-845-7334, xbw@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Ben Wu, a professor in the department of ecosystem science and management at Texas A&M University,…

Texas A&M biochemistry major leads student ‘pitch’ team at SEC competition.

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Writer: Mayzie Purviance COLLEGE STATION — A team led by a Texas A&M University biochemistry graduate student recently competed in a Southeastern Conference contest…

Sheep shearing, wool and mohair schools set for Jan. 12-14 in San Angelo

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host multiple comprehensive wool education schools at the…

Texas A&M poultry judging team wins 16th national title in 10 years

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Craig Coufal, 979-845-4319, cdcoufal@tamu.edu The Texas A&M University collegiate poultry judging team shows their team and individual awards at the 53rd National Collegiate…

AgriLife Extension provides information on biopesticides

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Producers may have additional biological pesticides to add to their arsenal of control methods for pests such as…

Water quality training Dec. 11 in Jonesboro to focus on Leon River

Contacts: Bruce Boyd, 254-386-3919, bruce.boyd@ag.tamu.edu Robert Ferguson, 254-865-2414, robert.ferguson@ag.tamu.edu Andy James, 254-223-3056, andy.james@tamu.edu Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu JONESBORO – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality related to the Leon…

Wheat rust showing up in High Plains, but treatment not recommended

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ken Obasa, 806-677-5600, ken.obasa@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Recent and abundant rains in some areas have producers concerned about leaf rust that is appearing in…

Pesticide applicator training in Overton Nov. 29

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – A Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service pesticide applicator training program is scheduled for Nov. 29 in Overton.…

Texas A&M AgriLife Extension honors long-time donors, supporters of Texas 4-H

AgriLife Extension South Campus building renamed for Richard and Patsy Wallrath Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, parr.rosson@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

4-H Teen Leadership Retreat set for Jan. 4-6

Registration now through Dec. 21 Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-631-0400, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Cari Snider, 325-784-5482, cari.snider@ag.tamu.edu BROWNWOOD — 4-H members in grades 7-12 and adult leaders can hone their leadership skills…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 6, 2018

Statewide pecan crop looks good despite losses from rain Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – An above-average production year for pecan growers could…

Wildlife disease ecology specialist joins AgriLife center in Uvalde

Dr. Daniel Leskovar, 830-278-9151, Daniel.Leskovar@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Tammi Johnson, 830-278-9151 x242, tammi.johnson@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE — Dr. Tammi Johnson has joined the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Uvalde as its…

Viticulture diseases, pest management workshop set Dec. 12 in Anderson

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service viticulture program will host a Disease and Pest Management program Dec. 12 at The Grand…

Viticulture diseases, pest management workshop set Dec. 12 in Anderson

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service viticulture program will host a Disease and Pest Management program Dec. 12 at The Grand…