Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 18

Forage pests active in improved pastures Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Forage producers should be on the watch for and ready to…

Kids learn manners at annual etiquette and dance class

Sixty-eight children from the Bryan-College Station area recently participated in the annual Class Act Etiquette & Dance Camps, practicing their manners, dance skills and etiquette at the College Station Hilton. …

Food safety training for farmers offered July 27 in Prairie View

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu PRAIRIE VIEW — Fruit and vegetable growers are encouraged to attend a food safety training July 27 at the…

Attoyac Bayou Stakeholder meeting set July 13 in Nacogdoches County

Contacts: Amy Uyen Truong, 979-458-3154, uyen.truong@ag.tamu.edu Brian Sims, 936-633-7527, bsims@anra.org Ricky Thompson, 936-560-7894, ricky.thompson@ag.tamu.edu NACOGDOCHES – The Attoyac Bayou Watershed Partnership will meet July 13 to discuss Attoyac Bayou Watershed…

Water quality training July 11 in Angleton

Focus will be on Bastrop Bayou, San Bernard River watersheds Contacts: Jessica Chase, 979-864-1558, jessica.chase@ag.tamu.edu Steven Johnston, 832-681-2579, steven.johnston@h-gac.com Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu ANGLETON – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop…

Congressman Flores Comments On House Passage Of Three Health Insurance Bills

Statement from the office of congressman Bill Flores of Bryan: “This week, the House continued its work to reform our health care system for the 21st century. We passed three…

Construction Starts On Memorial Remembering Those Who Died In The West Fertilizer Plant Explosion

DALLAS (AP) – Work has begun on a memorial to honor the 15 people killed in the 2013 fertilizer plant explosion in the Central Texas city of West. The memorial…

Anti-Sharia March: Women are Sexual Property of their Husbands By Carole Hornsby Haynes, Ph.D. Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — On June 10th, “March Against Sharia — March For Human Rights”…

Don’t forget to include animals when preparing for emergencies

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Andy Vestal, 979-862-3013, t-vestal@tamu.edu Joyce Cavanagh, 979-845-3859, jacavanagh@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — June is National Pet Preparedness Month, providing an opportunity for people to…

American Law Enforcement Heroes Act Incentivizes State and Local Law Enforcement Agencies to Hire Military Veterans Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. –U.S. Senator John Cornyn (R-TX) and U.S. Representative Will…

Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, DC – Military veterans will get a boost in finding jobs in policing, under a law signed Friday afternoon by President Trump and backed by Texas…

Mussel woman: Researcher looks into declining Texas mussel populations

  Texas A&M AgriLife Research freshwater mussel researcher Jennifer Morton inspects a specimen in the laboratory at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Dallas. (Texas A&M AgriLife…

Texas Legislature Ends Regular Session

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) _ State lawmakers have adjourned their 140 day legislative session _ but they could be headed back to work soon. Monday concluded a session that began in…

Partial-Birth Abortion & Dismemberment Ban, Property Tax Empowerment Act, and more… By State Rep. Phil King AUSTIN, Texas (Texas Insider Report) — Tuesday was the final day for the Texas House of Representatives…

Eliminating ineffective & duplicative programs calls for a $10.6 billion in cuts By Carole Hornsby Haynes, Ph.D. Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — President Donald Trump has released his first full budget…

By focusing on alleged obstruction, president’s enemies won’t have to find a real crime By Byron York Throughout the Trump-Russia investigation, the core question — the question that mattered above…

SB 8 strengthened to provide proper disposition of fetal remains, ban dismemberment abortions AUSTIN, Texas (Texas Insider Report) — The Texas House passed Senate Bill 8, the pro-life legislation that bans…

House Passes Anti-Cyberbullying Law Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas–  Last Friday, the House of Representatives passed Senate Bill 179, also known as David’s Law. The bill is named after David…

Program on land, water stewardship in Leon River watershed set for June 8 in Gatesville

Contacts: Nikki Dictson, 979-458-5915, n-dictson@tamu.edu Robert Ferguson, 254-865-2414, Robert.Ferguson@ag.tamu.edu Andy James, 254-865-2061, Andy.James@tamu.edu GATESVILLE–The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Riparian and Stream Ecosystem Education Program will host a free workshop from 8…

Water quality training May 24 in Ennis to focus on Richland-Chambers Reservoir watershed

Contacts: Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu     Mark Arnold, 972-825-5175, wmarnold@ag.tamu.edu Morgan Buob, 817-720-4419, morgan.buob@trwd.com ENNIS – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality and management related to the Richland-Chambers…