Rolling Plains Cotton and Precision Ag Field Day set Oct. 12 near Noodle

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Steve Estes, 325-823-2432, saestes@ag.tamu.edu            NOODLE – The Rolling Plains Cotton and Precision Ag Field Day is set for 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. Oct. 12…

Urban Quail Appreciation Day slated Oct. 5 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752 paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dale Rollins, Dale.Rollins@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Maureen Frank, 830-278-9151, mgfrank@tamu.edu Amanda Gobeli, 979-845-1851, Amanda.Gobeli@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, San Antonio…

Emergency meetings scheduled following reports of fumonisin in Texas corn

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5663, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Tom Isakeit, 979-862-1340, t-isakeit@tamu.edu AMARILLO — Meetings have been scheduled on Sept. 27 in Dimmitt and Dumas to…

Emergency meetings scheduled following reports of fumonisin in Texas corn

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5663, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Tom Isakeit, 979-862-1340, t-isakeit@tamu.edu AMARILLO — Meetings have been scheduled on Sept. 27 in Dumas and Dalhart to…

Asian shares fall on North Korea sanctions, China rate cut

HONG KONG (AP) — Most Asian stock markets fell Friday as investors turned cautious following new U.S. sanctions targeting North Korea and a China credit rating downgrade. Source: Business –…

US beefs up NKorea sanctions, Kim Jong Un insults Trump,

NEW YORK (AP) — President Donald Trump added economic action to his fiery military threats against North Korea on Thursday, authorizing stiffer new sanctions in response to the Koreans’ nuclear…

GOP health bill offers provisions aimed at helping 2 states

WASHINGTON (AP) — Provisions shoehorned into the Republican health care bill dangle extra money for Alaska and Wisconsin, home states of one GOP senator whose vote party leaders desperately need…

SEC under fire for being hacked despite warnings on security

WASHINGTON (AP) — The Securities and Exchange Commission waited until Wednesday to disclose a hack of its corporate filing system that occurred last year. The disclosure raises questions about the…

Lampasas River Watershed Partnership meeting Oct. 12 in Lampasas

Contact: Lisa Prcin, 254-774-6008, lprcin@brc.tamus.edu LAMPASAS – Residents interested in the Lampasas River Watershed Protection Plan are invited to attend the Lampasas River Watershed Partnership meeting Oct. 12. The meeting…

Markets Right Now: Stocks wobble after Fed, but close higher

NEW YORK (AP) — The latest on developments in financial markets (All times local): Source: Business – The Eagle

Apple says its new watch has cellular connectivity problems

NEW YORK (AP) — Apple confirmed that its new Series 3 Apple Watch can encounter problems connecting to a cellular network. The problems arise when the watch joins unauthenticated Wi-Fi…

Prospects for air traffic control privatization appear slim

WASHINGTON (AP) — President Donald Trump has made airlines’ longtime goal of privatizing air traffic control a key part of his agenda to boost America’s infrastructure. But his prospects for…

Fed announces a start to modestly reducing its bond holdings

WASHINGTON (AP) — The Federal Reserve will begin shrinking the enormous portfolio of bonds it amassed after the 2008 financial crisis to try to sustain a frail economy. The move…

Edgewood ISD elementary students get opportunity to Learn, Grow, Eat and Go!

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Ruby Zavala, 210-631-0400, ruby.zavala@ag.tamu.eduAngie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO –  More than 200 students from Alonso S. Perales Elementary School in the Edgewood Independent School…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 19, 2017

Sugarcane aphids not a major problem for prepared Texas sorghum producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu; Danielle Sekula, 956-878-8317, danielle.sekula@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Most sorghum…

International beef initiative launched by Texas A&M animal science

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Cliff Lamb, 979-845-1543, gclamb@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A new international beef initiative is underway by the Texas A&M University department of animal science,…

Sorghum silage field day adds nutritional education to crop production

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Lizabeth Gresham, 373-0713, lizabeth.gresham@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – When producers showed up to the annual Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service forage…

Water well owner training set for Sept. 26 in New Braunfels

Contact: Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu NEW BRAUNFELS — Anyone interested in private water well management is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training Sept. 26…

Centex Beef Symposium Sept. 29 at Swinging B Ranch in Axtell

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AXTELL – Live cattle demonstrations, a ranch tour and ribeye steak dinner will be the featured activities at the Centex Beef Cattle Symposium Sept. 29…

EU Chamber warns China: Open economy faster or risk backlash

BEIJING (AP) — A foreign business group appealed to China on Tuesday to move faster in carrying out promises to open its state-dominated economy and warned that inaction might fuel…