Ground-penetrating radar could help producers dig potatoes early

Water savings, premium markets could be realized Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dirk Hays, 979-458-0032, dbhays@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Ground-penetrating radar might help the potato industry save water,…

Greece waiting for 'right moment' for bond market return

ATHENS, Greece (AP) — Greece’s government says it’s waiting for the “right moment” to re-enter the bond market, playing down expectations of an issue by the end of the week. …

Republicans target arbitration rule for consumers

WASHINGTON (AP) — Republicans are targeting a rule that would let consumers band together to sue their banks or credit card companies rather than use a mediator to resolve a…

European Central Bank's Draghi cagey on stimulus exit

FRANKFURT, Germany (AP) — European Central Bank head Mario Draghi did his best Thursday to give no clear signal about the eventual withdrawal of a massive bond-purchase stimulus program, lest…

Speaker Ryan talking tax reform at New Balance shoe factory

LAWRENCE, Mass. (AP) — House Speaker Paul Ryan is pitching Republican plans for overhauling the nation’s tax code as his party looks to reset amid its struggles on repealing and…

Guadalupe County Master Gardener class open for registration

Instruction will be Tuesdays, Aug. 8-Dec. 5 Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Kay McElveen, 479-790-2933, hkaymcelveen@gmail.com SEGUIN – Guadalupe County residents interested in learning more about gardening and sharing…

Master Marketer Program to be presented Sept. 18-Oct. 31 in Castroville

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Rob Hogan, 432-940-6777, RHogan@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu CASTROVILLE — The Master Marketer Program will be held in two-week intervals from Sept.…

Growing organic rice for market niche not simple

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Shane Zhou, 409-752-2741, xzhou@aesrg.tamu.edu Dr. Fugen Dou, 409-752-2741, f-dou@aesrg.tamu.edu Dr. Mo Way, 409-658-2186, moway@aesrg.tamu.edu Dr. Muthu, Bagavathiannan, 979-845-3041, muthu.bagavathiannan@tamu.edu BEAUMONT —  A market…

Chiggers, fleas more noticeable in summer

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Wizzie Brown, 512-854-9600, ebrown@ag.tamu.edu Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu CENTRAL TEXAS – As people become more active in summer, so do a few familiar pests…

AgriLife Extension brings Worksite Wellness program to High Plains

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, aburkham@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is taking its wellness programs to work sites across the High…

House approves delay of Obama-era smog reductions

WASHINGTON (AP) — The House voted Tuesday to pass a Republican-backed bill delaying implementation of Obama-era reductions in smog-causing air pollutants. Source: Business – The Eagle

'Let Obamacare fail,' Trump declares as GOP plan collapses

WASHINGTON (AP) — President Donald Trump declared Tuesday it’s time to “let Obamacare fail” after the latest GOP health care plan crashed and burned in the Senate, a stunning failure…

United Continental's 2Q profit tops Wall Street forecasts

DALLAS (AP) — A return to higher fares helped boost United Airlines’ second-quarter profit above Wall Street expectations, but the momentum behind rising prices could be fading. Source: Business –…

Daimler to recall 3 million vehicles to ease diesel doubts

FRANKFURT, Germany (AP) — German automaker Daimler will voluntarily recall 3 million Mercedes-Benz brand cars with diesel engines in Europe to improve their emissions performance, the company said Tuesday in…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 18

Forage pests active in improved pastures Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Forage producers should be on the watch for and ready to…

Texas-bred potatoes headed to grower fields, marketplace

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Creighton Miller, 979-219-3388, jcmillerjr@tamu.edu SPRINGLAKE – Texas-bred potatoes were highlighted recently at the 26th annual Texas A&M Potato Breeding and Variety Development Program…

Private water well screenings set for San Jacinto, Liberty, Chambers counties

Contact: John Smith, 979-845-2761, jwsmith@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas Well Owner Network will present water well screenings in July and August in San Jacinto, Liberty and Chambers counties to…

Texas A&M entomologist hot on the trail to stop global locust devastation

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Hojun Song, 979-845-2481, hsong@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – From time immemorial, man has suffered from the devastation wrought by locust swarms of biblical…

Spray drift damage: What landowners need to know

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5600, tiffany.dowell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – With summer crop production in full swing, pesticide spray drift can cause damage to neighboring property owners,…

Beekeeping workshops offered July 24-26 in Perryton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Scott Strawn, 806-435-4501, Scott.Strawn@ag.tamu.edu PERRYTON – Three days of beekeeping information will be offered July 24-26 at workshops hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…