Producer input needed for possible sore mouth pilot project in goats

AgriLife Researcher: Severe ‘orf’ cases appear to be increasing in West Texas Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@tamu.edu Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, Reid.Redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO…

Raising a Successful Livestock Guardian Dog Workshop set March 15 in San Angelo

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO –  A workshop on bonding and starting livestock guardian dogs is…

Texas Sheep and Goat Expo sets performance-oriented sheep, goat sale

Producers should consider consignments now for Aug. 18 event Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Plans are being made to conduct a…

AgriLife Extension sets three profitability workshops in Lubbock beginning Feb. 13

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jackie Smith, 806-746-6101, j-smith34@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has set three crop profitability workshops — one per month…

New AgriLife Extension statewide cotton pest management guide is now available

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Suhas Vyavhare, 806-746-6101, Suhas.Vyavhare@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Entomologists with the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service have just released a new statewide guide on managing…

Castro County Crop Conference set Feb. 15 in Dimmitt

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Craig Campbell, 806-647-4115, craig.campbell@ag.tamu.edu DIMMITT – A reflection on the 2017 crop year and an idea exchange for 2018 will highlight the Texas…

AgriLife Extension’s Permian Basin Cotton Conference set March 1 in Big Spring

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Tommy Yeater, 432-264-2236, t-yeater@tamu.edu BIG SPRING – The Permian Basin Cotton Conference, a multi-county event conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service,…

Once more and done, QuailMasters sets final run registration

  Founder dubs last call event ‘When Quail Freezes Over’ Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Amanda Gobeli, 720-33-6224, agobeli@tamu.eduDr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollings@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO — QuailMasters 2018 has…

Registration open for Texas Brigades summer youth camps

Applications accepted until March 15 Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Natalie Wolff, 210-556-1391, camps@texasbrigades.org   Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas Brigades, a series of seven youth…

Myra Marsh receives AgriLife Extension Superior Service Award

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Myra Marsh, 325-653-4576, m-marsh@tamu.edu BRYAN – Myra Marsh, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service administrative associate III at San Angelo, has been awarded the Superior Service…

Annual ‘Last Chance’ Pesticide License CEU Training is Jan. 30 in San Angelo

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6523, j-blanek@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Tom Green County has set its annual “Last Chance”…

AgriLife Extension sets series of auxin herbicide trainings for area producers

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.eduContacts: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6522, j-blanek@tamu.edu Marty Vahlenkamp, 325-365-2219, marty.vahlenkamp@ag.tamu.edu Joel Webb, 325-365-2219, cjwebb@ag.tamu.edu   WALL – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a…

AgriLife Extension sets auxin specific herbicide training Feb. 7 in Tulia

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: John Villalba, 806-995-3721, john.villalba@ag.tamu.edu TULIA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Swisher County Ag Committee will host an auxin specific herbicide training…

AgriLife Extension sets Money Matters, A Financial Wellness Workshop Jan. 27 in Brownwood

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Courtney Parrott, 325-646-0386, Courtney.parrott@ag.tamu.edu BROWNWOOD – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct Money Matters, A Financial Wellness Workshop from 10 a.m.-2…

AgriLife Extension names new Runnels County agent

  Marty Vahlenkamp transfers to agriculture, natural resources post Jan. 15 Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Gibbs, 325-653-4576, mj-gibbs@tamu.edu BALLINGER – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has…

Publications now available on two Edwards Plateau, Concho Valley grass invaders from Mexico

  Mexican needlegrass, Mexican feathergrass increasing in area pastures Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.eduContact: Dr. Morgan Russell, 325-653-4576, morgan.russell@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has new…

Texas Master Naturalist program seeks applicants, sets spring training

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Mary Pearl Meuth, 979-845-7294, mpmeuth@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Master Naturalist program has announced training opportunities for those wishing to participate in…

Prescribed fire practitioners have new tools at their fingertips

   New AgriLife Extension site, publication answer ‘burning’ questions with latest info   Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Morgan Russell, 325-653-4576, morgan.russell@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – As prescribed fire…

2018 Texas Sheep and Goat Expo dates announced

  Fourth AgriLife Extension statewide event set for Aug. 17-18 in San Angelo Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The fourth Texas Sheep and Goat…

AgriLife Extension names veteran agent to regional role

  Robert Pritz will assume West Central District regional program leader duties Jan. 1 Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Pritz, 325-672-6048, r-pritz@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M…