AgriLife Extension names veteran agent to regional role

  Robert Pritz will assume West Central District regional program leader duties Jan. 1 Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Pritz, 325-672-6048, r-pritz@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M…

Marvin Ensor to retire from AgriLife Extension effective Dec. 31

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Marvin Ensor, state and regional program leader with the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, will conclude…

AgriLife Extension sets 4-H livestock, showmanship clinic Dec. 16 in Lubbock

  4-H Livestock Ambassadors to lead annual event Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Robert Scott, 806-775-1680, rj-scott@tamu.edu Wade Howard, 806-561-4562, wade.howard@ag.tamu.edu  LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct…

Swisher County Ag Day is Dec. 7 in Tulia

  Swisher County Ag Day is Dec. 7 in Tulia Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: John Villalba, 806-995-3726, john.villalba@ag.tamu.edu TULIA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Swisher County…

AgriLife Extension’s Taylor County Marketing Club sets Dec. 8 commodity workshop

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Pritz, 325-672-6048, r-pritz@tamu.edu ABILENE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Taylor County Marketing Club has set their annual public workshop for 8:30…

Southwest Beef Symposium set Jan. 17-18 in Odessa

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bruce Carpenter 432-336-8585, bruce.carpenter@ag.tamu.edu ODESSA – The Southwest Beef Symposium, jointly conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and New Mexico…

AgriLife Extension sets professional applicators conference in Odessa

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Steve Paz, 432-498-4071, paz@tamu.edu                 ODESSA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Ector County will conduct the 2017 Professional Applicators Conference…

Range and Pasture Workshop set Dec. 11 in Sonora

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu SONORA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the dual-county Range and Pasture Workshop Dec. 11 at the Sutton…

Angora goat test to begin Dec. 6 with delivery of animals to AgriLife Research station at Sonora

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.eduContact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SONORA – The 2018 Texas A&M AgriLife Angora Goat Performance Test is set to begin with delivery of the bucks on Dec.…

AgriLife Extension sets Dec. 12 wildlife management, conservation workshop at Gail

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Cody Hill, 806-756-4336, cody.hill@agnet.tamu.edu GAIL – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Wildlife Management and Conservation Workshop from 8:30-11:30 a.m.…

AgriLife to offer wool and mohair workshops in January at San Angelo

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu                 SAN ANGELO – Texas A&M AgriLife will conduct two separate educational programs aimed at both the novice…

Tri-county range, livestock clinic slated for Dec. 7 in Brady

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Justin Klinksiek, 325-597-1295, justin.klinksiek@ag.tamu.edu Lisa Brown, 325-396-4787, lbrown@ag.tamu.edu BRADY – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Tri-County Range and Livestock Clinic…

AgriLife Extension sets Pesticide Management and CEU Workshop Dec. 5 in Fort Stockton

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu|Contact: Raymond Quigg, 432-693-2313, r-quigg@tamu.edu FORT STOCKTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Pesticide Management and CEU Workshop from 8 a.m.-3 p.m.…

AgriLife Extension sets High Plains Ag Conference Dec. 8 in Lubbock

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Scott, 806-775-1740, rj-scott@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the annual High Plains Ag Conference from 8:30 a.m.-3 p.m. Dec.…

AgriLife Extension sets four-county South Plains Simply Christmas Lunch and Learn series

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-341-4884, aburkham@ag.tamu.edu LITTLEFIELD – Simply Christmas Lunch and Learn is a holiday-themed series to be conducted by the Texas A&M…

Experts: deforestation threatening the diversity of Amazon fish species

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.eduContacts: Dr. Kirk Winemiller, 979-862-4020, k-winemiller@tamu.eduCaroline Arantes, 979-721-1952, caroline.arantes@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A paper published in the Journal of Applied Ecology by two Texas A&M University scientists warns of impacts to…

AgriLife Extension names new Terry County agent

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Michael Clawson, 806-746-6101, m-clawson@tamu.edu BROWNFIELD – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has named Geoff Cooper as the agency’s new agent for agriculture…

Texas A&M scientists synthesize historical tick models to help curb the pest globally

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Pete Teel, 979-845-3253, pteel@tamu.edu                COLLEGE STATION – The battle against fever ticks rages on, and a group of Texas A&M University and French…

Health-conscious cooks to have two Dinner Tonight! venues in coming weeks

  AgriLife Extension sets dates for Plainview, Snyder healthy cooking schools Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Angela Burkham, 806-341-4884, aburkham@ag.tamu.edu                 PLAINVIEW – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service…

AgriLife Extension sets Prospective Grape Grower Workshop Dec. 12 at Lubbock

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu                 LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has scheduled the Prospective Grape Grower Workshop from 8:30 a.m.-4:30…