4-H Family Nights in Bexar County encourage at-risk minorities toward higher education

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Melinda Garcia, 210-631-0400, Melinda.garcia@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – For the past three years, family night events presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service…

Beef Cattle Rebuilding Workshop slated for May 4 in Floresville

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Bryan Davis, 830-393-7357, bryan.davis@ag.tamu.edu FLORESVILLE – A Beef Cattle Rebuilding Workshop will be conducted from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. May 4 at the…

Ranch sorting school, competition set for May 19 in Mercedes

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, brad.cowan@ag.tamu.edu MERCEDES — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Cinch Ranch Sorting National Championship, or CRSNC, will present the South…

Volunteers clean Geronimo, Alligator creeks watershed area at annual event

More than 1,800 pounds of debris cleared   Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu SEGUIN – In spite of a cold front that blew in, volunteers came…

Annual Vegetable Spring Field Day set for May 11 in Uvalde

Tomato grafting will be among key topics Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Daniel Leskovar, 830-278-9151, daniel.leskovar@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Uvalde…

Taste of Fiesta program April 28 in San Antonio

AgriLife Extension program will focus on peppers, salsa Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 21-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

Improving Carancahua Bay water quality focus of April 24 meeting

Lolita meeting fourth presented by Texas Water Resources Institute Contacts: Allen Berthold, 979-845-2028, taberthold@ag.tamu.edu Michael Schramm, 979-458-9191, michael.schramm@ag.tamu.edu LOLITA – The Texas Water Resources Institute is hosting an April 24…

Three one-day Harvey Communities Forums slated for April

Disaster rebuild, recovery programs to be in Beaumont, Rosenberg, Victoria Dr. Monty Dozier, 979-458-9271, monty.dozier@ag.tamu.edu Charriss York, 281-694-5508, cyork@tamu.edu Steven Mikulencak, 607-592-3115, smikulencak@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas A&M AgriLife…

Central Texans getting more than fair share of oak pollen

Experts say pollen counts significantly higher than average   Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Daphne Richards, 512-854-9600, drichards@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – Central Texas allergy sufferers are…

Texans asked to show appreciation for military children, families in April

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: JaNelle Casson, 254-774-6027, janelle.casson@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Courtney Dodd, 979-845-1211, cfdodd@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — April is national “Month of the Military Child” and Texas A&M AgriLife…

Plant Propagation Workshop slated for April 25 in Fredericksburg

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Beth McMahon, 830-997-3452, elizabeth.mcmahon@ag.tamu.edu FREDERICKSBURG – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office for Gillespie County will hold a Plant Propagation Workshop from 8:45…

Water well owner training April 24 in Stephenville

Contact: Dr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu STEPHENVILLE — A Texas Well Owner Network training has been scheduled for April 24 in Stephenville. The training, which is free and open to…

Grape Growing and Wine Festival set April 7 in Monte Alto

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, brad.cowan@ag.tamu.edu MONTE ALTO – The Grape Growing and Wine Festival 2018 will be from 4:30-8 p.m. April 7 at Rio Farms…

Path to the Plate event slated for April 14 in Robstown

Program connects local agriculture to health, nutrition Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jason Ott, 361-767-5217. j-ott@ag.tamu.edu ROBSTOWN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Nueces County will…

Urban riparian, stream restoration workshop set for April 11 in Austin

Registration deadline April 9 Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 x205, clare.entwistile@ag.tamu.eduDr. Fouad Jaber, 512-213-7389, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – The Texas Water Resources Institute Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program will host a workshop…

Program March 31 in San Antonio to address garden, landscape planting in South Texas

  Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – A program titled “Planting Tips for South Texas” will be held from noon to 2 p.m.…

Ag Symposium April 17 in San Antonio will provide cost-saving tips

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Bexar County will present the 2018 Ag Symposium “Putting $…

Dinner Tonight Healthy Cooking School slated April 16 in Round Rock

Event will provide cooking demonstrations, food production discussion   Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chelsea Stevens , 512-943-3300, castevens@ag.tamu.edu ROUND ROCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in…

Texas Well Owner Network honored with prestigious state environmental award

Program earns 2018 Texas Environmental Excellence award in education. Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.eduDr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.eduJohn W. Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION…

East Austin Garden Fair set for April 14

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Daphne Richards, 512-854-9600, drichards@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – The annual “East Austin Garden Fair: A Passion for Plants” will take place from 9 a.m. to 2…