Junior Master Gardener Adult Leader Training July 25-27 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.eduContact: Ruby Zavala, 210-631-0400, Ruby.Zavala@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Youth Gardens Program of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service for Bexar County is now accepting applications for its 12th…

AgriLife Extension to present summer, fall wellness workshop series

Programs at Millwood, Little Walnut Creek public libraries Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sonia Coyle, 512-854-9600, sonia.coyle@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Travis County will…

Walk Across Texas participants learn about additional health, wellness offerings at midway event

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nelda Lebya Speller, 210-631-0400, nlspeller@ag.tamu.edu Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Eighty-two Bexar County employees learned about a variety of free health and…

AgriLife helps Texas tomato producers make better connections through grafting

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Daniel Leskovar, 830-278-9151, daniel.leskovar@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – A team of Texas A&M AgriLife researchers and horticulturists are investigating how successful integration of vegetable grafting…

Agriculture workshop, farm tour slated June 29-30 in the San Antonio area

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, Erin.Kimbrough@ag.tamu.edu Makenzie McLaurin, 979-862.1913, Makenzie.McLaurin@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the agency’s Texas AgrAbility program will…

Water well trainings, screenings set for July in the Panhandle

Contacts: Drew Gholson, 979.845.1461, dgholson@tamu.edu John W. Smith, 979.845.2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu Diane Boellstorff, 979.458.3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu The Texas Well Owner Network will present its Well Informed and Well Educated programs in the…

Institute to hold June 21 meeting in Palacios

Focus will be implementing Tres Palacios Creek watershed protection plan Contact: Michael Schramm, 979-458-9191, michael.schramm@ag.tamu.edu Allen Berthold, 979-845-2028, taberthold@ag.tamu.edu Nathan Glavy, 979-458-5915, nathan.glavy@ag.tamu.edu PALACIOS – The Texas Water Resources Institute,…

Avoid foodborne illness while picnicking

AgriLife Extension expert offers tips on outdoor food safety Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Rebecca Dittmar, 830-896-9037, rsdittmar@ag.tamu.edu KERRVILLE – Foodborne bacteria can multiply quickly in hot temperatures, and a…

Experts remind Texans to protect children from vehicular heat death

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Bev Kellner, 979-862-1782, bkellner@ag.tamu.edu Johnny Humphreys, 512-422-7085, humphreys.johnny@gmail.com COLLEGE STATION — With summer temperatures climbing to triple digits, now is a good time to…

AgriLife Extension offers hurricane preparedness, recovery information

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, parr.rosson@ag.tamu.eduDr. Monty Dozier, 979-458-9271, monty.dozier@ag.tamu.eduDr. Joyce Cavanagh, 979-845-3859, jacavanagh@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – With June 1 marking the start of hurricane season, the Texas…

Family, community health workshop set for June 6 in Austin

Contact: Sonia Coyle, 512-854-9605, sonia.coyle@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office for Travis County will conduct a 4–H Family and Community Health Workshop from 9:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.…

Residents, AgriLife Extension, others work to ‘Harvey-proof’ Houston-area community

Effort leads to new Exploration Green nature park that will detain floodwater, clean runoff Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Jacob, 832-671-8171, jjacob@tamu.edu Mary Carol Edwards, 281-989-5517, mcedwards@tamu.edu CLEAR…

Vegetable Spring Field Day in Uvalde draws producers

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Daniel Leskovar, 830-278-9151, Daniel.Leskovar@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – More than 80 agricultural producers and those in agriculture-related businesses attended the recent Vegetable Spring Field Day…

Bexar County employees take first steps in ‘Walk Across Texas’

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Participants in Walk Across Texas in Bexar County gather outside the Bexar County Courthouse complex. More than 130 county employees participated in the…

Urban Wildlife Series programs will be June through August in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M University System, U.S. Department of Agriculture and the County Commissioners Courts of Texas will…

Water well owner training set for May 31 in Hamilton

Contact: Dr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu HAMILTON — A Texas Well Owner Network training offered by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has been scheduled for May 31 in Hamilton.…

Water well owner training set for May 31 in Hamilton

Contact: Dr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu HAMILTON — A Texas Well Owner Network training offered by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has been scheduled for May 31 in Hamilton.…

Texas A&M AgriLife Research to lead project to enhance spinach production, safety

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Vijay Joshi, 830-278-9151, Vijay.Joshi@tamu.edu Dr. Daniel Leskovar, 830-278-9151, Daniel.Leskovar@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Texas A&M AgriLife research will collaborate with the Texas Department of Agriculture…

Lone Star Healthy Streams program set for May 24 in Seguin

Contact: Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu SEGUIN — The Geronimo and Alligator Creeks Watershed Partnership is hosting a Lone Star Healthy Streams Workshop May 24 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration program workshop set May 15 in Houston

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 x205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 512-213-7389, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu THE WOODLANDS – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host a workshop from 8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. May 15…