AgriLife Extension experts offer tips for safer, healthier Halloween

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Chelsea Stevens, 512-943-3300,mailto:Castevens@ag.tamu.edu Elaine Montemayor-Gonzalez, 361-668-5705, elaine.montemayor-gonzalez@ag.tamu.edu GEORGETOWN – While Halloween means children dressing in costume and going through the neighborhood in search of…

Feral Hog Program slated for Nov. 8 in Georgetown

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jared Alewine, 512-943-3300, jared.alewine@ag.tamu.edu GEORGETOWN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Williamson County will present a Feral Hog Program from 8 a.m.…

Precision agriculture, nutrition discussed during tour of AgriLife center in Temple

Personnel share info on a variety of local, regional, global activities Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Tom Gerik, 254-774-6128, tgerik@brc.tamus.edu TEMPLE — Dr. Patrick Stover, vice chancellor for…

Incredible Edible Insect Event set for Oct. 20 in San Antonio

Contact: Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and San Antonio Botanical Garden will present the Incredible Edible Insect Event at 10:30 a.m. and…

Farm tour, veteran agriculture program slated Oct. 19-20 in San Angelo area

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, Erin.Kimbrough@ag.tamu.edu Makenzie McLaurin, 979-862-1913, Makenzie.McLaurin@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas AgrAbility Program and Battleground to Breaking Ground Project of the Texas…

Demonstration Garden Open House and Plant Sale set for Oct. 20 in Austin

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Daphne Richards, 512-854-9600, drichards@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office for Travis County will have its annual Demonstration Garden Open House…

4- H Junior Leadership Retreat slated Nov. 9-11 near Brownwood

Writer: Paul Schattenberg: 210-467-6575, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Mark Carroll, 325-784-5482, jmcarroll@ag.tamu.edu Cari Snider, 325-784-5482, cari.snider@ag.tamu.edu BROWNWOOD – 4-H members in third through eighth grade can hone their life skills during the…

Youth Hunter Education Camp will be Oct. 26-28 at 4-H center

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Cari Snider, 325-784-5482, cari.snider@ag.tamu.edu BROWNWOOD — A Youth Hunter Education Camp open to 4-H members from nine to 15 years of age will be…

Fall Agriculture Program slated for Oct. 5 in Comfort

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Steven Zoeller, 830-249-9343, szoeller@ag.tamu.edu COMFORT — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Kendall County will present its Fall Agriculture Program from 8…

Farm Tour, agriculture program slated Oct. 19-20 in San Angelo area

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, Erin.Kimbrough@ag.tamu.edu Makenzie McLaurin, 979-862-1913, Makenzie.McLaurin@ag.tamu.edu The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service helps current and former military service members with information and…

AgriLife Extension entomologists: Fire ants, mosquitoes to be more prevalent after rains

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Robert Puckett, 979-458-0853, rpuck@tamu.edu Dr. Sonja Swiger, 254-968-4144, slswiger@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – With recent rains subsiding in many parts of the state and…

Williamson County Crops Conference slated for Oct. 16 in Taylor

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tyler Coufal, 512-943-3300, tyler.coufal@ag.tamu.edu TAYLOR – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Williamson County will present its Crops Conference Oct. 16 at the…

Study shows ‘precision nutrition’ may help prevent non-alcoholic fatty liver disease

Texas A&M, Central Texas Veterans Health Care Systems, others collaborate on study Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Chaodong Wu, 979-458-1521, cdwu@tamu.edu Dr. Gianfranco Alpini, 254-743-1044, galpini@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION…

South Texas Risk Management Workshop set for Oct. 3 in Sinton

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jason Ott, 361-767-5217, jason.ott@ag.tamu.edu SINTON – Agricultural producers looking for answers related to today’s commodity prices should plan to attend the South Texas Risk…

Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program workshop Sept. 27 in Bryan

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292, ext. 205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 972-952-9672, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu BRYAN – The Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program of the Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host…

AgriLife Extension: Texans should prepare for flooding, high winds

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Monty Dozier, 979-458-9271, monty.dozier@ag.tamu.edu Joyce Cavanagh, 979-845-3859, jacavanagh@ag.tamu.edu David Smith, 979-862-1989, dwsmith93@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – With the probability of extensive rain and high winds,…

Multi-County Wildlife Management Workshop slated for Oct. 17 in Luling

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Julie Zimmerman, 512-398-3122, julie.zimmerman@ag.tamu.edu LULING – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and others will present the Multi-County Wildlife Management Workshop Oct. 17 at…

Texas Master Gardeners converge in San Antonio for advanced training

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – About 50 Master Gardeners from 27 counties throughout Texas recently came to…

AgriLife Extension supports National Preparedness Month

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.eduDr. Monty Dozier, 979-458-9271, monty.dozier@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – September is National Preparedness Month, and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is reminding Texans it has a variety of…

AgriLife Extension to provide private applicator training Sept. 6 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present the Private Applicator Pesticide Training program Sept. 6 at…