Water quality training in New Braunfels to focus on Geronimo, Alligator creeks

Contacts: Troy Luepke, 830-620-3440, troy.luepke@ag.tamu.edu Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu NEW BRAUNFELS – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality related to Geronimo and Alligator creeks will…

Researchers zero in on potential therapeutic target for diabetes, associated diseases

Texas A&M-led study: ‘Novel regulatory mechanism’ may be key to intervention Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattneberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Shaodong Guo, 979-845-0850, shaodong.guo@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A recent study led by…

Birding the Hills program set for April 29-May 3

Texas Hill Country birding event will focus on Gillespie County Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Maureen Frank, 830-278-9151, mgfrank@tamu.edu FREDERICKSBURG — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will…

Texas 4-Hers learn leadership, citizenship during trip to D.C.

Contact: Jana Barrett, 979-458-0910, jcbarrett@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Montza Williams, 903-834-6191, montza.williams@ag.tamu.edu WASHINGTON, D.C. – Twenty-four Texas 4-H members recently earned the opportunity to participate in the Texas 4-H Leadership Conference in…

AgriLife entomologists: Exclusion best protection from winter insect ‘home invasion’

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Wizzie Brown, 512-854-9606, ebrown@ag.tamu.edu Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – Like all living things, insects are constantly searching for food, water and shelter, so…

Texas Water Resources Institute to host watershed plan training

Contact: Nathan Glavy, 979-458-5915, nathan.glavy@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host an Implementing Watershed Plans Training Dec. 17 in College Station for watershed coordinators…

Preparing for spring planting, CEU ‘shootout’ program set Dec. 18 in Leming

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dale Rankin, 830-569-0034, dw-rankin@ag.tamu.edu LEMING – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Atascosa County, in collaboration with the Atascosa Cattlemen’s Association, will present…

Innovative tool will let landowners easily report wild pig activity, damage

Writer:  Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jim Cathey, 979-458-2565, james.cathey@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M Natural Resources Institute, NRI, encourages landowners to report wild pig sightings and damage…

AgriLife offers publications, videos on wild game food safety

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-631-0400, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Rebecca Dittmar, 979-458-2025, rsdittmar@ag.tamu.edu KERRVILLE – With hunting season in full swing, hunters can benefit from several educational publications and videos related to wild…

AgriLife Extension to provide private applicator training Dec. 6 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present a Private Applicator Pesticide Training Dec. 6 at the agency’s office…

Beef Cattle Short Course set for Jan. 8, Jan. 15 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Bexar County Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee will present the…

Homeowner septic system workshops to be held in Matagorda County

Programs slated for Dec. 6 in Palacios, Dec. 7 in Bay City Contact: Aaron Sumrall, 979-245-4100, sasumrall@ag.tamu.eduRyan Gerlich, 979-458-4185, rgerlich@tamu.edu BAY CITY — The Texas Water Resources Institute and Texas A&M AgriLife…

4-H ReFashion Retreat slated for Jan. 25-27 at 4-H center at Lake Brownwood

Registration open through Jan. 13 Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Cari Snider, 325-784-5482, cari.snider@ag.tamu.edu BROWNWOOD – Registration is open for the weekend 4-H ReFashion Retreat to be held Jan. 25-27…

Agricultural continuing education unit program slated for Nov. 29 in Edna

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Hiller, 361-782-3312, mrhiller@ag.tamu.edu EDNA — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Jackson County, in collaboration with Jackson County beef and field crops…

Homeowner septic system maintenance class slated Dec. 3 in Bellville

Contact: Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu BELLVILLE—The Mill Creek Watershed Partnership will offer a Homeowner Maintenance of Septic Systems class from 8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. Dec. 3. The free class will be…

Agricultural tour, workshop for military veterans, others in Williamson County

Farm tour Nov. 30 in Thrall; workshop Dec. 1 in Georgetown Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, Erin.Kimbrough@ag.tamu.edu        Makenzie McLaurin, 979-862-1913,     Makenzie.McLaurin@ag.tamu.edu GEORGETOWN — Texas…

Simple recipe alterations can make holiday foods healthier

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jenna Anding, 979-847-9228, j-anding@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Holiday meals can be healthier and taste just as good by using basic recipe substitutions or alterations, said…

Kids, Kows and More event in San Antonio brings agriculture to urban youth

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Natalie Cervantes, 210-631-0400, ntcervantes@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – More than 1,000 third- and fourth-grade students from elementary schools throughout Bexar County attended the recent two-day…

Urban stream processes, restoration workshop set for Nov. 29 in Belton

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292, ext. 205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 972-952-9672, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu BELTON – The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program will host the Urban Stream Processes…

AgriLife Extension horticulturist: Protect, select, plant with colder weather in mind

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – With the mercury dropping in South Central Texas, a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service horticulturist said it’s…