Forage, brush management workshop slated for Aug. 29 in Georgetown

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jared Alewine, 512-943-3300, jared.alewine@ag.tamu.edu GEORGETOWN — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present the Wilco Forage and Brush Management Workshop Aug. 29 in…

For Juntos 4-H ‘Day in the Life’ contest winner, the sky’s the limit

Trip to Florida, Kennedy Space Center tour part of reward for first-place essay Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Melinda Garcia, 210-631-0400, melinda.garcia@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — David Tierranegra, winner…

Prospective wine-grape growers workshop Sept. 14 in Eddy

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Fran Pontasch, 979-458-0103, fmpontasch@tamu.edu Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, m.cook@tamu.edu EDDY — Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service viticulture and enology experts will conduct a workshop Sept.…

States’ 4-H International Exchange brings 23 Japanese youth to Texas

Program helps with greater global awareness, understanding Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Darlene Locke, 979-845-1023, dlocke@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Twenty-three youth and two adult chaperones from Japan recently…

Disaster-resilient communities focus of Aug. 25 conference in La Marque

Half-day conference will address mental, physical, financial health after a disaster Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jymann Davis, 281-309-5049, Jymann.davis@ag.tamu.edu. Charriss York, 281-694-5508, cyork@tamu.edu LA MARQUE – The Texas…

Growing edibles in landscape focus of Aug. 18 program in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Bexar County will present the Growing Edibles in Your…

Backyard Basics Expo in San Antonio helps attendees learn self-sufficiency

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nelda Leyba Speller, 210-631-0400, nlspeller@ag.tamu.edu Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekck@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — More than 100 people attended the biannual…

Bexar County employees complete Walk Across Texas

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nelda Lebya Speller, 210-631-0400, nlspeller@ag.tamu.edu Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – More than 245 Bexar County employees recently completed the eight-week Walk Across Texas health and…

Private Pesticide Training slated for Aug. 21 in Uvalde

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Samantha Korzekwa, 830-591-9046, samantha.korzekwa@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – A Texas Department of Agriculture private pesticide applicator license training for individuals to purchase “restricted use pesticides” will…

Skype A Scientist program lets NRI research associate connect to new audience

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Melissa Meierhofer, 920-203-3668, mbm030@tamu.edu Dr. Jim Cathey, 979-458-2565, james.cathey@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –  What are bat wings made of? How are bats different from birds?…

Feral hog workshop set for Aug. 10 in Seguin

Contact: Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu SEGUIN — The Geronimo and Alligator Creeks Watershed Partnership will present a Feral Hog Workshop Aug. 10 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office…

Crompton receives Lifetime Achievement Award for travel, tourism contributions

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. James Petrick, 979-845-8806, jpetrick@tamu.edu Dr. John Crompton, 979-845-5320, jcrompton@tamu.edu Distinguished University Professor Dr. John Crompton. (Texas A&M AgriLife photo) COLLEGE STATION — Dr.…

Exploration Green receives 2018 Excellence in Green Infrastructure Award

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. John Jacob, 832-671-8171, jjacob@tamu.edu Mary Carol Edwards, 281-989-5517, mcedwards@tamu.edu HOUSTON – A multifaceted project to help reduce flooding and provide recreation for  thousands…

Seed Cotton/Base Acres Workshop slated for July 30 in Seguin

Contact: Travis Franke, 830-303-3889, travis.franke@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Rob Hogan, 830-278-9151, rhogan@ag.tamu.edu SEGUIN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present the 2018 Farm Bill Seed Cotton/Base Acres Decision Workshop July…

Agricultural economists recommend ‘SPA’ for cattle producers

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Rob Hogan, 830-278-9151. ext. 270, RHogan@ag.tamu.edu Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, bill.thompson@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – The Standardized Performance Analysis, or SPA, program is an indispensable tool…

Hidalgo County 4-H members recognized at 2018 4-H Roundup

July 18, 2018 Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-467-6575, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Luis Saldana, 956-968-5581, luis.saldana@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO – Four Hidalgo County 4-H’ers were standouts at the 2018 Texas 4-H Roundup held recently in…

Forage Management Workshop set Aug. 30 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, Sam.Womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present its Forage Management Workshop Aug. 30 at its office…

Three 2018 Urban Wildlife Series sessions to be presented in July, August

Native plants, water conservation and Medina River tour among offerings   July 17, 2018 Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service…

Institute to host urban best management training July 25

Contacts: Nathan Glavy, 979-458-5915, nathan.glavy@ag.tamu.edu. Dr. Fouad Jaber, 972-952-9672, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host an Urban Best Management Practices for Watershed Planning Training…

AgriLife Extension sets Backyard Basics Expo for Aug. 3 in san Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present its Backyard Basics Expo Aug. 3 in San Antonio.…