Critical Texas drought forecast may alter summer crop planting decisions

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas High Plains is under extreme drought and if current conditions continue, producers need to make…

AgriLife Extension offers new agricultural leasing fact sheet

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tdowell@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas landowners have a new tool when it comes to determining agricultural leasing rates. Tiffany Dowell Lashmet,…

Feedyard greenhouse gas study analyzes emissions, mitigation factors

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ken Casey, 806-677-5600, kdcasey@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – A week spent in a feedyard pen is helping researchers gain a better understanding of greenhouse gas…

Dryland wheat crop hanging on; root development is key

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, QXue@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The dryland wheat crop is hanging on by a thread, of sorts. Root development on wheat plants…

Hill Country event to address land stewardship April 26-27 in Kerrville

Conference topics include tax valuations, fencing laws, hunting leases, among others Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu KERRVILLE – Landowners may understand stocking rates and…

Agriculture under secretary Northey to speak at beef conference April 24 in Canadian

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, Andy.Holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – U.S. Under Secretary for Farm and Foreign Agricultural Service Bill Northey will be the keynote speaker April 24…

AgriLife Extension hires new statewide turfgrass specialist

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Becky Grubbs, 979-845-0603, bgrubbs@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Becky Grubbs expects to spend the next chapter in her life growing the Texas turfgrass…

Eikner fills AgriLife Extension agriculture position in Potter County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Megan Eikner, 806-373-0713, megan.eikner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Megan Eikner has been hired as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent…

Texas A&M AgriLife researchers push drones to ‘read the weeds’

Early identification, detection can aid in timely, precise control Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Muthu Bagavathiannan, 979-845-5375, muthu@tamu.edu A rotary wing drone captures images over a weed research plot…

April 5 webinar to highlight drought management lessons

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Lessons Learned in Preparing for Drought Management will be the topic of the April 5 natural resources…

Rolling Plains Wild Pig Management Workshop set for April 25 in Wichita Falls

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: David Graf, 940-716-8610, cdgraf@ag.tamu.edu WICHITA FALLS – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host a Rolling Plains Wild Pig Management Workshop April 25 in…

Drones help researchers monitor High Plains wheat

Moisture-deficient winter offers prime drought-tolerance measurements Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jackie Rudd, 806-677-5600, jcrudd@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Research dryland wheat variety nursery near Bushland…

Feedyards advised to begin pen surface cleaning now due to dry weather

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Brent Auvermann, 806-677-5600, b-auvermann@tamu.edu AMARILLO – A Texas A&M AgriLife researcher is advising feedyard managers to begin their spring manure harvesting or dust…

Beef influence on dairy cattle could improve marketing options, bottom line

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ted McCollum, 806-677-5600, ted.mccollum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Dairy owners might be able to add more to their bottom line if they introduce a beef…

TRICARE changes to be focus of March 28 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – “TRICARE Reforms in 2018” will be the topic of the Military Families Learning Network,…

AgriLife Extension offers publications for wildfire preparation, safety

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Tim Steffens, 806-651-2781, tsteffens@wtamu.edu Dr. Morgan Russell, 325-653-4576, morgan.russell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Preparing for wildfire response ahead of time is one of the most…

Hemphill County beef conference April 24-25 to address drought, environmental conditions

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, Andy.Holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – As a cattle rancher, knowing when and what resources are available on the land is the key to…

Grain-grading workshops set for May 1, May 2 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Two grain-grading workshops hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service — one May 1 and one May…

Panel highlights importance of dairy workforce training, documentation

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.eduTiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tdowell@tamu.edu AMARILLO – After a number of U.S. Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement, or ICE, audits…

AgriLife expert: New farm bill may get pushed through this year

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-5913, joutlaw@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Ask the man who has completed six farm bill cycles when a new bill will be pushed through…