Northeast Panhandle Grain Sorghum Conference set Feb. 26 in Perryton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Scott Strawn, 806-435-4501, sstrawn@ag.tamu.edu PERRYTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Ochiltree, Hansford and Lipscomb counties will host the Northeast Panhandle Grain…

Six Ranchers Leasing Workshops scheduled across Texas

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5600, tdowell@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The 2019 schedule for Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s popular Ranchers Leasing Workshop programs has been released,…

AgriLife Extension hires three agents to serve Wise, Wichita, Childress counties

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Karly West, 940-627-3341, karly.west@ag.tamu.edu Katrena Mitchell, 940-716-8610, katrena.mitchell@ag.tamu.edu Kara Lacey, 940-937-2351, kara.lacey@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Three new agents have been added to the Texas A&M…

New AgriLife Extension health agent hired in Ochiltree, Lipscomb, Roberts counties

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: McKayla Stephen, 806-435-4501, mckayla.stephen@ag.tamu.edu McKayla Stephen is the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service health agent for Ochiltree, Lipscomb and Roberts counties. (Texas A&M…

AgriLife Extension study: Forage sorghum silage viable option with sugarcane aphid control

Forage sorghum comparison of freshly harvested chop length. Left sample represents heavily infested forage sorghum while right sample represents the forage sorghum with low levels of sugarcane aphid damage. (Texas…

Hill Country land stewardship conference set April 25-26 in Kerrville

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu KERRVILLE – The Hill Country has its own special needs when it comes to managing livestock and wildlife and…

AgriLife Extension plans two-hour auxin trainings across state

Online schedule available Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Scott Nolte, 979-845-4880, scott.nolte@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – As temperatures rise and thoughts turn to spring planting, many producers will need…

Feed grains marketing workshop set for Feb. 27-28 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600 or dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The “Developing This Year’s Marketing Plan for Feed Grains” workshop will be held Feb. 27-28 at the Texas…

Oldham County Mini Ag Day set Feb. 14 in Vega

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Amanda Spiva, 806-267-2692, amanda.spiva@ag.tamu.edu VEGA – The Oldham County Mini Ag Day will be held Feb. 14 in the Oldham County Barn, 305 Coke St.,…

Integrating center pivot irrigation control technologies goal of Texas A&M study

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Thomas Marek, 806-677-5600, thomas.marek@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Dana Porter, 806-723-8426, dporter@ag.tamu.edu Thomas Marek, Texas A&M AgriLife Research engineer, is integrating and automating irrigation technologies and tools. (Texas…

Feb. 7 webinar will focus on troublesome mustard weeds in rangeland

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Dr. Barron Rector, 979-845-2755, b-rector@tamu.eduPete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu Different varieties of mustard occur throughout Texas as a weed in fields, roadsides, lawns, gardens, waste places…

Grain sorghum irrigation water-use efficiency dependent on weather conditions

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Srinivasulu Ale, 940-552-9941, sriniale@ag.tamu.edu Field data for Dr. Srinivasulu Ale’s study came from sorghum trials managed by Jim Bordovsky at the Texas A&M AgriLife…

TRICARE in 2019 topic of Feb. 6 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.eduRachel Brauner, 979-458-8871, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Military Families Learning Network’s Military Caregiving program will host a free 60-minute “TRICARE in 2019:…

Cotton insurance, marketing workshop scheduled Feb. 12 in Canyon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, jd.ragland@ag.tamu.edu CANYON –  The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Randall County will offer a Cotton Insurance and…

Two Texas A&M AgriLife faculty garner National Cotton Council recognition

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu Dr. Katie Lewis, 806-746-6101, Katie.Lewis@ag.tamu.edu   Texas A&M AgriLife faculty Dr. Gaylon Morgan, College Station, and Dr. Katie Lewis,…

Six-part horticultural education series set for February, March in Canyon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Erin Jones-Gray, 806-468-5543, erin.jones@ag.tamu.edu CANYON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Randall County will host a six-session horticultural educational series focusing on Water…

High Plains Cotton Conference set Feb. 1 in Spearman

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Kristy Slough, 806-878-4026, klslough@ag.tamu.edu SPEARMAN – The High Plains Cotton Conference, hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, will be held Feb. 1 at…

Annual right-of-way management training set Jan. 31 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Rick Auckerman, 806-364-3573, r-auckerman@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The annual “ROW” Conference for right-of-way management, conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, will be Jan. 31…

Xue honored as Texas A&M Regents Fellow

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, QXue@ag.tamu.edu At center, Dr. Qingwu Xue, Texas A&M AgriLife Research crop stress physiologist in Amarillo, was honored with the Texas A&M…

Ibrahim earns Texas A&M honor as Regents Professor

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Dr. Amir Ibrahim, 979-845-8274, aibrahim@tamu.edu Helping recognize Dr. Amir Ibrahim, Texas A&M AgriLife Research wheat breeder in the Texas A&M University department of soil and…