West Plains Crops Conference set Jan. 11 in Levelland

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Wes Utley, 806-894-3159, wes.utley@ag.tamu.eduKerry Siders, 806-638-5635, Kerry.siders@ag.tamu.edu LEVELLAND – The West Plains Crops Conference, hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Hockley,…

Beef cattle workshop set Jan. 8-9 in Canyon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu CANYON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Randall County will host a Beef Cattle Marketing Workshop…

New chemistries tested for weed control in corn

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – While producers may find newer corn herbicides on the market, it is important to look herbicide performance under…

Master Gardener intern training begins Jan. 10 in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Christina Reid, 806-775-1740, christina.reid@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Lubbock County is hosting the 2019 Lubbock County Master Gardener Intern…

Lashmet’s ‘Ag Law in the Field’ podcast earns ABA top 100 web resources ranking

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5600, tdowell@tamu.edu Tiffany Dowell Lashmet is recognized for her Ag Law in the Field podcast. (Courtesy photo) AMARILLO – Texas A&M AgriLife…

Childress to host Red River Crops Conference Jan. 23-24

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu CHILDRESS – The sixth annual Red River Crops Conference: Planning for Success, offering crop production information designed for…

Master Marketer workshop in Lubbock rapidly filling

Award-winning program to be offered Jan. 22-March 7 Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jackie Smith, 806-746-6101, j-smith34@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – A Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Master Marketer program…

AgriLife economist: 2019 to offer marketing opportunities for wheat producers

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas wheat producers may have an opportunity to see higher prices and higher yields in 2019, according to…

Texas A&M AgriLife receives sponsored support for agrigenomics lab from PerkinElmer

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Johnson, 979-862-3287, Charlie@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas A&M AgriLife announced PerkinElmer Inc. has agreed to further support the growing field of agrigenomics…

AgriLife Extension to host 4-H livestock, showmanship clinic Dec. 15 in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Robert Scott, 806-775-1740, rj-scott@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host the annual District 2 Showmanship Clinic from 3-5 p.m. Dec. 15…

Lowe hired as AgriLife Extension multi-county health agent

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Courtney Lowe, 806-485-9135, Courtney.lowe@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Courtney Lowe began her new job Dec. 3 as a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service multi-county health agent,…

AgriLife Extension economist: Expect farm bill by Christmas

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-5913, joutlaw@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Somehow, someway, there will be a new farm bill in the next few days, according to Dr. Joe…

Dec. 6 webinar to help determine usable grazing acres

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.eduDr. Bob Lyons, 830-278-9151, rk-lyons@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – “Grazable Acres” will be the title of a Dec. 6 natural resources webinar conducted…

Texas A&M’s Stelly named AAAS Fellow

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. David Stelly, 979-845-2745, stelly@tamu.edu WASHINGTON, D.C. – Dr. David Stelly has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science…

Young County 4-Her sets America Royal national livestock judging contest record

Team places third overall Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Justin Rogers, 940-549-0737, justin.rogers@ag.tamu.edu GRAHAM – A Young County 4-Her set a record, and her team placed third recently when they…

AgriLife Extension organizing Grass Grazing and Animal Management School

Program to begin in February in Lubbock Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Robert Scott, 806-775-1740, rj-scott@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – A 10-month Grass Grazing and Animal Management School coordinated by the Texas…

Turfgrass Ecology and Management Short Course set for Feb. 25-28 at Texas A&M

Optional turf irrigation program to be offered March 1 Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Becky Grubbs, 979-845-0603, bgrubbs@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A Turfgrass Ecology and Management Short Course will…

Swisher County Ag Day set Dec. 5 in Tulia

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: John Villalba, 806-995-3721, john.villalba@ag.tamu.edu TULIA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Swisher County Ag Committee will host its annual Swisher County Ag Day on…

AgriLife Extension extends Path to the Plate program to youth

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Carolyn Prill-Bennett, 806-935-2594, Carolyn.prill@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, angela.burkham@ag.tamu.edu DUMAS – More than 700 Moore County youth and adults were the first in the…

Armstrong County Fall Producers Meeting set for Dec. 11 in Claude

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Derek Williamson, 806-226-3021, mikeal.williamson@ag.tamu.edu CLAUDE – The annual Armstrong County Fall Producers Meeting sponsored by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will be held…