Research shows late-planted sorghum, other crops good alternatives to failed cotton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, QXue@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Qingwu Xue’s plant physiology team plants grain sorghum June 12 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research farm near…

Texas A&M corn breeder looking to build a better bourbon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Beth Luedeker, 979-458-4044, baluedeker@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Seth Murray, 979-845-3041, sethmurray@tamu.edu Rob Arnold, rob@frdistiliing.com Texas A&M’s corn breeding program is researching the affect corn varieties and…

New varieties, research to highlight July 18 potato field day near Springlake

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Isabel Vales, isabel.vales@tamu.edu SPRINGLAKE – The annual Texas Potato Breeding and Variety Development Program Field Day, hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife Research and…

Memorial services set for Dr. Dudley Smith

COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Dudley Smith, a professor emeritus and former administrator in Texas A&M AgriLife Research, then known as the Texas Agricultural Experiment Station, died June 8. Dr. Dudley…

North Plains water district, AgriLife Extension promote cotton education

Video series to highlight northern Panhandle best management practices Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Julia Stanford, 806-935-6401, jstanford@northplainsgcd.org A series of cotton and conservation…

Texas A&M’s Baltensperger to lead Council for Agricultural Science and Technology

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Baltensperger, 979-845-3041, dbaltensperger@tamu.edu AMES, Iowa – Dr. David Baltensperger, head of the soil and crop sciences department at Texas A&M University, was…

Rangeland nutrition, management program set June 21 in Silverton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Mason Carter, 806-823-2522, mason.carter@ag.tamu.edu SILVERTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Briscoe County will present the Early Summer Rangeland Nutrition and Management…

Lessons for establishing professional boundaries addressed in June 5 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-458-8871, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Military Families Learning Network’s Military Caregiving program will host a “Professional Boundaries in…

Child Care Conference set June 22 in Hereford

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Wendy Case, 806-251-5120, wendy.case@ag.tamu.eduAmalia Mata, 806-364-3573, asmata@ag.tamu.eduChelsey Tillman, 806-267-2692, Chelsey.tillman@ag.tamu.edu HEREFORD – The Child Care Conference, hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in…

Texas A&M student recognized as Borlaug Scholar by plant breeders association

Sarah Marsh studying to become rice breeder Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Sarah Marsh, smarsh@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Sarah Marsh, a senior student at Texas A&M University, is one of…

Wild wheat relative genes to aid in battle against trio of pests

AgriLife Research team awarded USDA-NIFA grant Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Shuyu Liu, 806-677-5600, shuyu.liu@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Shuyu Liu makes a cross between TAM 114 and a wild wheat…

Texas A&M student identifies unique 5-million-year-old rhino species

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Rachel Short, rachel.a.short@tamu.edu The cast of “Little Guy” mounted on display in the East Tennessee State University Museum of Natural History at the Gray Fossil…

AgriLife Extension releases new publication on mowing warm-season turfgrass

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Becky Grubbs, 979-845-0603, bgrubbs@tamu.edu This illustration shows mowing tips for lawns that can improve overall performance. (Texas A&M AgriLife graphic by Gabe Saldana)…

Annual Wheatheart Wheat Field Day set May 21 in Perryton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Scott Strawn, 806-435-4501, sstrawn@ad.tamu.edu PERRYTON – The annual Wheatheart Wheat Field Day, hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Ochiltree, Lipscomb…

Feedyard Technician Program for high schoolers earns TEA certification

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Robert Devin, 806-677-5600, rldevin@ag.tamu.edu Brady Miller, 806-358-3681, brady@tcfa.org Dr. Ron Gill, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service beef cattle specialist in College Station, instructs students…

Texas A&M-designed irrigation runoff mitigation system patented, available for licensing

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ben Wherley, 979-845-1591, b-wherley@tamu.edu Texas A&M faculty received a patent on a system to control irrigation in response to detected runoff. (Texas A&M…

Clay County Pecan Field Day set May 2

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Bill Holcombe, 940-538-5042, wcholcombe@ag.tamu.edu CHARLIE – The Clay County Pecan Field Day, hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Clay County, is…

Ranching apps webinar set for May 2

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu Bryan Davis, 830-393-7357, bryan.davis@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Even in ranching, there’s an app for that … and that’s the topic…

Ranchers Leasing Workshop set May 22 in Perryton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5600, tdowell@tamu.edu PERRYTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s popular Ranchers Leasing Workshop will come to Perryton on May 22.…

Vegetable feasibility analysis developed for High Plains producers

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Justin Benavediz, 806-677-5600, justin.benavediz@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@tamu.edu Dr. Bridget Guerrero, 806-651-2614, bguerrero@wtamu.edu High Plains vegetable growers will soon have some economic…