Region 16 STEM teachers tour AgriLife Research farm

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Brent Auvermann, 806-677-5600, bauvermann@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas A&M AgriLife Research hosted a group of about 20 science, technology, engineering and math, or STEM,…

Guar producer uses Texas A&M AgriLife support to prompt revisions in NRCS guidelines

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Curtis Adams, 940-552-9941, Curtis.Adams@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – When a Texas Rolling Plains guar producer found himself to be potentially out…

Farm bill discussions set for High Plains cotton producers June 19-20, July 12

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host another round of cotton meetings in the High Plains June…

TRICARE mental health care changes highlight June 13 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Military Families Learning Network’s Military Caregiving program will host a free 60-minute professional…

Community Resource Expo set June 14 in Booker

Others planned in the Panhandle through November Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, aburkham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is partnering with Panhandle…

Post-emergent herbicide timing key in corn production

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Weed control in corn is important to profitability, but producers need to be aware of herbicide application…

Vogel hired to support AgriLife Extension vet sciences certificate program

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Tyler Vogel, 806-677-5600, tyler.vogel@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Tyler Vogel hopes to help youth pursue their passion for veterinary sciences as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

Engineered cotton uses weed-suppression chemical as nutrient

AgriLife Research battles herbicide-resistant weeds Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677- 5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Keerti Rathore, 979-862-4795, rathore@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A newly developed fertilizer system will provide nutrition to engineered cotton…

XIT Arts and Crafts Show accepting vendors

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Kay Rogers, 806-244-4434, kwrogers@ag.tamu.edu DALHART – The XIT Arts and Crafts Show, hosted Aug. 4 by the Texas Extension Education Association in Dallam County, promises to…

Understanding Introduced Pasture Fertilization webinar set June 7

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Pasture fertilization will be the topic of a June 7 webinar by…

Corn producers receiving Syngenta litigation settlement notices have options

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tdowell@tamu.edu AMARILLO – U.S. corn producers may be seeing a light at the end of the tunnel related to the…

Two Texas A&M ecosystem sciences research graduates earn distinguished student award

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu  Contact: Dr. Yong Zhou, 979-587-4423, yong.zhou@yale.edu Dr. Thomas Boutton, 979-845-8027, boutton@tamu.edu Dr. Tan Zhou, 979-985-9138, tankwin0@email.tamu.edu Dr. Sorin Popescu, 979-862-2614, s-popescu@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Two…

Texas A&M, USDA research aimed at nitrite poisoning leads to methane mitigation

Student, advisers taking research from lab to marketplace Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Bill Pinchak, 940-552-9941, bpinchak@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Elizabeth Latham, 512-574-4790, bezoarlaboratories@gmail.com Dr. Robin Anderson, 979-260-9317, robin.anderson@ars.usda.gov COLLEGE…

AgriLife Research, Forage Genetics International sign multi-year agreement

Focus will be on forage sorghum improvements Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bill Rooney, 979-845-2151, wlr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A greater interest in forage sorghums from the beef…

Bipartisan Budget Act changes to cotton program require producer action

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-5913, joutlaw@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Decisions must be made for the 2018 cotton crop being planted now, according to a Texas A&M…

Resistant varieties, beneficial predators can help producers win sugarcane aphid battle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ada Szczepaniec, 806-354-5806, ada.szczepaniec@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – While sugarcane aphids have been difficult to suppress in past years due to their natural traits and…

‘Managing in Tough Times’ program offered May 15-16 in Wheeler

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Thomas Cunningham, 806-826-5243, thomas.cunningham@ag.tamu.edu WHEELER – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will bring “Ranching 2018: Managing in Tough Times” to the Ag and…

Grisham named AgriLife Extension family, community health agent for Hutchinson County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Faith Grisham, 806-878-4026, faith.grisham@ag.tamu.edu STINNETT – Sharing the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service message is a passion of Faith Grisham’s, one that has landed…

Farm bill effects on cotton producers to be discussed at May 14-16 meetings

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jackie Smith, 806-746-6101, j-smith34@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host a series of cotton meetings…

Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research awards $5 million to address water scarcity

Texas A&M AgriLife Research joins others to advance irrigation innovation Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Brent Auvermann, 806-677-5600, b-auvermann@tamu.edu DENVER – Texas A&M AgriLife Research is poised to…