New Texas A&M soil scientist aims research at global change effects on carbon sequestration

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Peyton Smith, 979-845-5669, peyton.smith@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Peyton Smith was soaring through the skies before she could drive, but it’s what is…

Hemphill County Mini-Ag Conference set Sept. 10 in Canadian

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, Andy.Holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – The Hemphill County Mini-Ag Conference, hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, will be held Sept. 10 in…

Rolling Plains soil health, conservation field tour set Aug. 29 near Vernon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Paul DeLaune, 940-552-9941, pbdelaune@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – The Rolling Plains field tour, Practices to Improve Soil Health…

42nd annual Randall County Ag Day and Crops Tour set Aug. 28

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu   CANYON – The 42nd annual Randall County Ag Day and Crops Tour hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife…

Rolling Plains Sheep and Goat University set Aug. 9 in Seymour

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Josh Kouns, 940-889-5581, josh.Kouns@ag.tamu.edu SEYMOUR – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host the second annual Rolling Plains Sheep and Goat University Aug.…

Carter named AgriLife Extension agent in Briscoe County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Mason Carter, 806-823-2522, mason.carter@ag.tamu.edu SILVERTON – Mason Carter started work Aug. 1 as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent…

AgriLife Extension to offer QuickBooks training in Amarillo, Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5667, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer Panhandle District QuickBooks Pro Short Courses on Aug. 21-22 in…

Grazing, hunting, livestock leases topic of Aug. 2 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tiffany.dowelllashmet@ag.tamu.eduPete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Grazing, Hunting and Livestock Leases will be the title of an Aug. 2…

High tunnel vegetable, flower seed production highlight Aug. 9 special event

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Vegetable Production and High Value Horticultural Crop Seed Production will be a special afternoon breakout session Aug. 9…

AgriLife Extension fills horticulture position in Randall County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Erin Jones-Gray, 806-468-5543, erin.jones@ag.tamu.edu CANYON – Erin Jones-Gray began July 2 in a dual appointment as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service horticulture…

20th annual Wheatheart Wheat Conference set Aug. 9 in Perryton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Scott Strawn, 806-435-4501, sstrawn@ad.tamu.edu PERRYTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host the 20th annual Wheatheart Wheat Conference at 8:30 a.m. Aug.…

Water-Wise Tips for Turfgrass offered by AgriLife Extension

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Becky Grubbs, 979-845-0603, bgrubbs@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Lawn owners may be second-guessing their regular maintenance practices, especially in the hottest and driest months. Lawn…

Texas A&M potato breeding trials offer reds to russets, babies to bakers

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Isabel Vales, 541-740-4437, isabel.vales@tamu.edu SPRINGLAKE – When Kelly Kuball walked the Texas A&M Potato Breeding and Variety Development Program variety display trials near…

July 18 webinar to highlight post-trauma changes

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Military Families Learning Network’s Military Caregiving program will host a free  professional development…

Dryland cotton suffering while irrigated cotton looks good

Lack of moisture causes some producers to replant Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.eduDr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Much like producers’ fields across the…

Sugarcane aphid populations popping up in High Plains sorghum fields

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Like the popup showers that have dotted the state, the sugarcane aphid is starting to show up all…

Summer Crops/OAP Center Pivot Irrigation Field Day set Aug. 9 at Bushland

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, qxue@ag.tamu.edu BUSHLAND – A Summer Crops/OAP Center Pivot Irrigation Field Day will be hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife and the…

New AgriLife Extension dairy specialist located in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Piñeiro, 806-677-5600, juan.pineiro@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Dr. Juan Piñeiro, veterinarian, joined the faculty at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in…

Cattle Trails Wheat and Stocker Cattle Conference set July 31 in Lawton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu Marty New, 580-255-0546, marty.new@okstate.edu LAWTON, Oklahoma – Parts of Texas and Oklahoma are suffering under drought conditions, said a…

July 5 webinar to discuss invasive grasses in rangeland

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Megan Clayton, 361-265-9201, megan.clayton@ag.tamu.edu Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Invasive grasses will be the topic of a July 5 webinar by…