AgriLife study: High biomass sorghums can compete under water-stressed circumstances

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, QXue@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Bioenergy or high biomass sorghum can be grown in water-stressed situations and still produce good yields, according to a Texas…

AgriLife Extension pilots High Plains multi-county positions

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, dnusser@ag.tamu.eduDr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, angela.burkham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is piloting positions for two multi-county agronomy agents and…

Holloway receives range management society Grass Roots Award

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Andy Holloway, 806323-0114, andy.holloway@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Andy Holloway, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent in Hemphill County, received the Grass Roots…

Kimura named AgriLife Extension state peanut specialist

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Dr. Emi Kimura has been named the state peanut specialist for Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. Dr.…

Protein derived from cottonseed for human nutrition one step closer to reality

Texas A&M receives USDA-APHIS deregulation approval Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677- 5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduDr. Keerti Rathore, 979-862-4795, rathore@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Cottonseed ground into flour to deliver protein to millions of people,…

Sheep, goat conference set Nov. 14 in Lamesa

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Gary Roschetzky, 806-872-3444, gary.roschetzky@ag.tamu.edu LAMESA – A Sheep and Goat Production Conference hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Dawson County will…

Lorrie Coop named national Extension Educator of the Year

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Lorrie Coop, 940-459-2651, ljcoop@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Lorrie Coop, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service family and community health agent in Knox County has been named…

CRP risk management decision aid available through AgriLife Extension

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5667, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – As Conservation Reserve Program, or CRP, contracts expire, landowners must decide if they should re-enroll acreage, convert it back to farmland…

Rancher risk management tool offered, sign-up deadline Nov. 15

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Pasture, Rangeland and Forage, or PRF, insurance can be a way to protect Texas landowners’ perennial forage for livestock…

AgriLife Research study: Fumonisin not detrimental to beef cattle diets

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Jenny Jennings, 806-677-5600, Jenny.Jennings@ag.tamu.eduDr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Increasing levels of dietary fumonisin do not adversely affect feedlot cattle performance, according to…

Texas A&M team proposes using research stations across U.S. for public STEM education

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Rhonda Struminger, 979-450-8484, struminger@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The general public and scientists are finding common ground at hundreds of biological field research stations across…

Texas A&M team proposes using research stations across U.S. for public STEM education

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Rhonda Struminger, 979-450-8484, struminger@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The general public and scientists are finding common ground at hundreds of biological field research stations across…

AgriLife Extension to offer Seed Cotton Farm Bill Training Oct. 16 in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jackie Smith, 806-746-6101, j-smith34@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – A Seed Cotton Farm Bill Training will be held Oct. 16 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and…

AgriLife Extension to offer Seed Cotton Farm Bill Training Oct. 16 in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jackie Smith, 806-746-6101, j-smith34@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – A Seed Cotton Farm Bill Training will be held Oct. 16 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and…

Dinner Tonight Healthy Cooking School set Oct. 23 in Weatherford

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Kathy Smith, 817-598-6168, Kathy.smith@ag.tamu.edu WEATHERFORD – The 2018 Health Cooking School, in conjunction with Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Dinner Tonight and Path to the…

Building Strong Families Conference set Oct. 25 in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Kay Davis, 806-775-1740, kay.davis@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The 23rd anniversary of the Building Strong Families Conference for parents is set for Oct. 25 at the Broadway…

AgriLife Extension to offer food manager certification training Oct. 17-18 in Pampa

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Joan Gray-Soria, 806-669-8033, Joan.Gray-Soria@ag.tamu.edu PAMPA – A professional food manager certification training course, “Food Safety: It’s Our Business,” will be offered Oct. 17-18 by the…

Calving and rebreeding nutrition program set Oct. 22 in Quitaque

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Mason Carter, 806-823-2522, mason.carter@ag.tamu.edu QUITAQUE – The Briscoe County Beef Pre- and Post-Calving and Rebreeding Nutrition Program will be hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife…

Maeda joins AgriLife Extension cotton program in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Murilo Maeda, 806-746-6101, mmaeda@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Dr. Murilo Maeda is returning to his roots when he trades the Texas coast for the South…

AgriLife Extension to present grazing lease meeting Oct. 8 in Claude

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Derek Williamson, 806-226-3021, mikeal.williamson@ag.tamu.edu CLAUDE – Producers from throughout the Texas Panhandle are invited to a Grazing Lease Meeting Oct. 8 in Claude hosted by…