Small ruminant management workshop Jan. 6 in Bryan

Contact: Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, dusty.tittle@ag.tamu.edu BRYAN – A small ruminant management workshop is scheduled from 8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. Jan. 6 at the Brazos County Expo Center, 5207 Leonard…

Texas researcher receives Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research Award

Award presented for Early-Career Innovation in Plant Pathology Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Writer: Kathleen Phillips Contact: Dr. Kranthi Mandadi, 956-969-5634, kkmandadi@tamu.edu WESLACO — Scientists are closing in fast…

U.S. agricultural trade fueled by demand, steady yields

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu BRYAN – U.S. agricultural exports value totaled $135 billion in 2016 and experts anticipate future growth if production yields, trade agreements and borrowing power work…

From the Ground Up workshop to focus on agriculture, healthy living

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dana Tarter, 940-552-9941, dana.tarter@ag.tamu.edu WACO – From the Ground Up: Connecting Agriculture and Health will be held in conjunction with the Blackland Income Growth…

Consumers be aware of unsuspecting insects in Christmas trees

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Ragsdale, 979-845-2516, dragsdale@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – This holiday season, consumers should be aware of unwanted critters that may find their way into…

Mohanty elected Fellow for American Association for Advancement of Science

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Binayak Mohanty, 979-458-4421, bmohanty@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Binayak Mohanty, Regents Professor in the department of biological and agricultural engineering at Texas A&M…

Giesenschlag, LaMantia, Hogan inducted into A&M Ag Economics Ty Timm Honor Registry

Media contacts: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Merritt Weeks, 979-862-8362, mjweeks@tamu.edu                                  COLLEGE STATION – John Giesenschlag, Steve LaMantia, and Kenneth Hogan were recently inducted into the Tyrus R. Timm Honor…

Thomasson named Engineer of the Year by Texas association

Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Alex Thomasson has been named Texas Section Engineer of the Year by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Thomasson…

Farm policy, new commodity innovations, trends highlight BIG Conference Jan. 10-11

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu WACO – An update on current farm bill policy as well as presentations on drone technology, maintaining a healthy beef cattle herd plus a number…

Five hour agriculture, pest management CEU event set for Nov. 30 in Edna

Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu EDNA – A Five Hour CEU event is scheduled Nov. 30 from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. at the Jackson County Services Building Auditorium, 411…

Alumni receive awards at Texas A&M College of Agriculture and Life Sciences banquet

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Three former students were chosen for Outstanding Early Career Alumni awards, while four alumni were honored with Outstanding Alumni Awards during the…

Calf market trends, forage production highlight South Central Texas Cow-Calf Clinic

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu BRENHAM – Beef cattle producers from throughout the South Central Texas region learned more about producing calves that fit…

Lillibridge receives Texas Academy Family Physicians Public Health Award

Contact: Blair Fannin: 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Scott Lillibridge, director of the Center for Global Health and Innovation at Texas A&M University in College Station, has received the…

New office aims to strengthen relationships with U.S. livestock and poultry industries

Contacts: Lesa Muehlstein, 979-845-2855, lesa.teer@ag.tamu.edu Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION -The World Organisation for Animal Health, also known as OIE, officially opened the  U.S.-based liaison office in College Station Nov.…

Master Marketer series set for Waco in 2018

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu WACO – The 2018 Master Marketer series, which assists farmers and ranchers in developing marketing plans to increase gross…

Texas agricultural losses from Hurricane Harvey estimated at more than $200 million

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu     Dr. Mark Waller, 979-845-1751, mwaller@tamu.edu     Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu     Dr. Dean McCorkle, 979-845-1861, d-mccorkle@tamu.edu    …

Agricultural trade, farm policy focus of 2017 Texas Plant Protection Conference

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu BRYAN – The importance of agricultural trade and current and future farm policy will be discussed at the 2017 Texas Plant Protection Association Conference Dec.…

Global trade, forage and weed management strategies highlight Cow Country Congress

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu CROCKETT – Global trade impacts on the beef industry as well as herbicide and forage management strategies were discussed…

Victoria cotton, grain risk management and marketing workshop Dec. 5

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Mac Young, 361-265-9203, amyoung@ag.tamu.edu   Matt Bochat, 361-575-4581, mtbochat@ag.tamu.edu VICTORIA –  A cotton and grain risk management and marketing workshop will be held from…

Briscoe Ranch Inc. $5 million endowment established  for Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership program

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jim Mazurkiewicz, 979-845-1554, jim.mazurkiewicz@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A $5 million endowment has been established in the name of former Texas Gov. Dolph Briscoe…