Texas A&M University International Beef Academy to debut

Online certificate program will teach latest in beef production, industry practices Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reinaldo Cooke, 979-458-2703, reinaldocooke@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Applications for the inaugural Texas…

Experts: Use safe practices when processing, cooking feral hogs

Parasites, such as hookworms can be found in feral hogs Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Tom Hairgrove, 979-845-5419, tbhairgrove@tamu.edu Dr. Tom Craig, 979-845-3414, thomas.craig@tvmdl.tamu.edu Dr. Dan Hale, 979-845-3935,…

New farm bill discussions highlight Ag Forum meeting in Austin

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Farm economy experts at the recent Ag Forum in Austin told attendees to expect much debate on the shaping of a new farm…

Texas A&M AgriLife, Colorado State team up for beef export project

University researchers developing industry best practices Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Russell Cross, 979-845-1541, hrcross@tamu.edu    COLLEGE STATION – Texas A&M AgriLife and Colorado State University researchers are…

U.S. agricultural trade continues to climb in value

Trade negotiations critical to fuel future economic impact Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – U.S. agricultural export trade reached $135 billion in 2016 as farm commodities were a big…

AgriLife Research Unmanned Aerial Systems program receives update

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Bob Avant, 979-845-2908, bob.avant@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – From traditional crop production to livestock, Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientists from across the state provided updates…

Jan. 29 Texas Ag Forum to feature farm bill discussions

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Agricultural policy and political considerations for the new farm bill will highlight the Jan. 29 Texas Ag Forum at the Hilton Austin Airport,…

Farm Bill discussed at 56th Blackland Income Growth Conference

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu WACO – Texas’ No. 1 cash crop may receive loss protection it did not get in the last farm bill, according to a Texas A&M…

Brazos Valley CEU Conference Jan. 26 in Caldwell

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: John Grange, 979-567-2308, john.grange@ag.tamu.edu CALDWELL – The 2018 Brazos Valley CEU Conference is set Jan. 26 at the Burleson County Fairgrounds in Caldwell, 905…

Scholarships presented at 56th Blackland Income Growth Conference

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu WACO — Scholarships were awarded to area Blacklands youth recently at the Blackland Income Growth Conference held at the Extraco Events Center in Waco. The…

AgriLife Extension Superior Service awards presented to agency faculty, staff

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Lara Burhenn, 979-845-5771, lara.burhenn@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Select faculty and staff of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service received the agency’s Superior Service Award…

Camp Brisket helps novice pitmasters feed masses

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jeff Savell, 979-845-3992, j-savell@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Nothing beats good brisket and Texas barbecue, but smoking brisket on a barbecue pit can be…

Fort Bend Regional Vegetable Conference scheduled Feb. 8

Contact: Brandy Rader, 281-342-3034, brandy.rader@ag.tamu.edu ROSENBERG – The 33rd Fort Bend Regional Vegetable Conference is scheduled Feb. 8 at the Fort Bend County Fairgrounds in Rosenberg. The program will be…

Gulf Coast Grape Grower Field Day Feb. 2 at Cat Spring

Contact: Fran Pontasch, 979-458-0131, fmpontasch@tamu.edu CAT SPRING – The 26th annual Gulf Coast Grape Grower Field Day will be 9-4 p.m. Feb. 2 at the Cat Spring Agricultural Society Hall,…

Texas A&M AgriLife invests $179 million to lead agriculture research for fifth year

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Craig Nessler, 979-845-8486, cnessler@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Whether it’s remote sensing tools or developing better water strategies for rural or urban areas, Texas…

Fourth Texas Barbecue Town Hall meeting features discussions of meat trends

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jeff Savell, 979-845-3992 , j-savell@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas barbecue owners and pitmasters from across the Lone Star state gathered at Texas…

Chapkin appointed to Allen Chair in nutrition at Texas A&M

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Robert Chapkin, 979-845-0419, r-chapkin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Robert S. Chapkin has been appointed to the William W. Allen Chair in Nutrition at…

Small ruminant management workshop Jan. 6 in Bryan

Contact: Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, dusty.tittle@ag.tamu.edu BRYAN – A small ruminant management workshop is scheduled from 8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. Jan. 6 at the Brazos County Expo Center, 5207 Leonard…

Texas researcher receives Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research Award

Award presented for Early-Career Innovation in Plant Pathology Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Writer: Kathleen Phillips Contact: Dr. Kranthi Mandadi, 956-969-5634, kkmandadi@tamu.edu WESLACO — Scientists are closing in fast…

U.S. agricultural trade fueled by demand, steady yields

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu BRYAN – U.S. agricultural exports value totaled $135 billion in 2016 and experts anticipate future growth if production yields, trade agreements and borrowing power work…