Rainwater harvesting, turf management training July 12 in Seguin

Contacts: Dr. Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu SEGUIN — Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Healthy Lawns and Healthy Waters Program will host a residential rainwater harvesting and…

Eagle Lake Rice Field Day scheduled for June 26

Contact: Stephen Janak, 979-732-2082, Stephen.Janak@ag.tamu.edu EAGLE LAKE – The 44th annual Eagle Lake Rice Field Day is scheduled for 4 p.m. June 26 at the David R. Wintermann Rice Research…

Texas A&M AgriLife Research mourns loss of Dr. Erik Mirkov

Researcher was renowned plant pathologist worldwide Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Kranthi Mandadi, 956-969-5634, kkmandadi@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO – Dr. Erik Mirkov, plant pathologist at the Texas A&M AgriLife…

Institute to hold meeting on improving Carancahua Bay water quality

Contacts: Dr. Allen Berthold, 979-845-2028, taberthold@ag.tamu.edu Michael Schramm, 979-458-9191, michael.schramm@ag.tamu.edu LOLITA – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host a meeting June 7 in Lolita for anyone interested…

Fundamentals of developing water quality monitoring plan focus of Austin workshop

Program for watershed coordinators, water professionals June 4-5 Contact: Nathan Glavy, 979-458-5915, nathan.glavy@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN –The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, is hosting a Fundamentals of Developing a Water Quality Monitoring…

EPA accepts Tres Palacios Creek watershed protection plan

Contact: Michael Schramm, 979- 458-9191, michael.schramm@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Tracy, 979-862-7221, john.tracy@ag.tamu.edu Tres Palacios. (Texas Water Resources Institute photo) COLLEGE STATION — The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has accepted the Tres…

Elysian Fields ISD students receive Junior Master Gardener certificates

Students close out program year with Texas A&M, horticulture department tour Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Randy Seagraves, 979-845-3107, seagraves@tamu.edu Lisa Whittlesey, 979-845-8096, l-whittlesey@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A…

Wildlife workshop June 1 in Tennessee Colony

Contact: Erin Davis, 903-389-3436, erin.davis@ag.tamu.edu TENNESSEE COLONY – A wildlife workshop is scheduled from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. June 1 at the Gus Engeling Wildlife Management Area, 16419 U.S.…

Riparian, stream ecosystem workshop set for April 25 in Goliad

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 ext. 205, Clare.Entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Aarin Teague, 210-227-1373, ateague@sara-tx.org Brian Yanta, 361-645-8204, brian.yanta@ag.tamu.edu GOLIAD–The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Riparian Stream and Ecosystem Education Program will host a…

Riparian, stream ecosystem workshop set for March 8 in Marion

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 ext. 205, Clare.Entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Patty Carvajal, 210-302-3672, pmcarvajal@sara-tx.org Travis Franke, 830-303-3889, travis.franke@ag.tamu.edu MARION–The Texas Water Resources Institute Texas Riparian and Stream Ecosystem Education Program will host a…

Water quality training March 7 in Bryan will focus on Navasota River

Contact: Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, dusty.tittle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu BRYAN – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality related to the Navasota River will be…

March 6 water quality training in Kaufman to focus on Cedar Creek Lake watershed

Contacts: Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu Ralph Davis, 972-932-9069, rs-davis@tamu.edu Michelle Wood-Ramirez, 817-720-4552, michelle.wood-ramirez@trwd.com KAUFMAN – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality and watershed management related to the Cedar…

Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program workshop set March 20 in Seguin

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 x205, clare.entwistile@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 512-213-7389, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu SEGUIN – The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program will host a workshop from 8:30 a.m.-4…

Texas A&M hires new leader of agriculture college, agencies

Contact: Laylan Copelin, 979-458-6425, lcopelin@tamus.edu  COLLEGE STATION — The Board of Regents of The Texas A&M University System unanimously voted Thursday to hire a nationally recognized leader in nutritional science…

Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration program workshop set for Feb. 21 in Lewisville

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 x205, clare.entwistile@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 512-213-7389, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu LEWISVILLE – The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program will host a workshop from 8:30 a.m.-4…

Water well screenings offered for counties affected by Hurricane Harvey

Free screenings Feb. 6 for residents of Chambers, Hardin, Orange counties Contact: Dr. Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, Dboellstorff@tamu.eduDr. Drew Gholson, 979-8545-1461, dgholson@tamu.eduJohn Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas A&M…

Water quality training Dec.7 in La Vernia

Focus will be on mid and lower Cibolo Creek watershed areas Contacts: Bryan Davis, 830-393-7357, bryan.davis@ag.tamu.edu Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292, ext.110, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu LA VERNIA – A Texas…

Riparian, stream ecosystem workshop set Nov. 8 in Brenham

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 ext.110, Clare.Entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Jennifer Cary, 979-862-8070, jcary@tamu.edu Kara Matheney, 979-277-6212, kjmatheney@ag.tamu.edu BRENHAM – The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Riparian and Stream Ecosystem Education Program will host…

Institute to hold second meeting on improving Carancahua Bay water quality

Contacts: Allen Berthold, 979-845-2028, taberthold@ag.tamu.edu Michael Schramm, 979-458-5962, michael.schramm@ag.tamu.edu LOLITA – The Texas Water Resources Institute is hosting a Nov. 2 meeting in Lolita for those interested in improving water…

Navasota River watershed protection plan accepted by EPA

Contact: Dr. Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Tracy, 979-862-7221, john.tracy@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency recently accepted the Navasota River Watershed Protection Plan, developed by the…