Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 18, 2018

Producers, homeowners battling armyworms Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Hay and forage producers and homeowners around the state are battling armyworms following…

Equine event set for Oct. 12-13 in Sanger

Registration required by Oct. 8 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Robin Hill, 940-349-2894, robin.hill@dentoncounty.com SANGER – The second annual Red River Equine Summit, a two-day educational event featuring Texas…

Texas Crop and Weather – Sept. 11, 2018

El Niño weather patterns expected to bring wetter conditions through winter Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas is emerging from one…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 5, 2018

Wheat acres could rise slightly as prices trend upward; winter moisture expected Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-845-3041, cbneely@tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION…

Renovated facility to be hub for AgriLife Extension urban health, wellness, agriculture education in Dallas County

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Richard Davis, 214-904-3050, richard.davis@ag.tamu.edu Stephen Hudkins, 214-904-3050, stephen.hudkins@ag.tamu.edu GARLAND – Collaboration with Dallas County commissioners at a renovated road and bridge office site has…

Outdoor skills event set for Sept. 8 in Kaufman

Contact: Sharon Burden, 972-932-9069, sbburden@ag.tamu.edu KAUFMAN – Wild game field dressing, all-terrain vehicle safety training and electrical safety education will be topics of Backyard Basics —  a Texas A&M AgriLife…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 28, 2018

Texas rice farmers experiencing bumper 2018 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Michael Orrin Way, 409-752-2741, moway@aesrg.tamu.edu            Dr. Lee Tarpley, 409-752-2741, ltarpley@tamu.edu BEAUMONT – Texas rice farmers are…

Kiwifruit Field Day Sept. 21 in Nacogdoches

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tim Hartmann, 979-845-2839, t-hartmann@tamu.edu NACOGDOCHES – The second annual Kiwifruit Field Day hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will be Sept. 21…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 21, 2018

Dove season success likely to depend on food, water sources Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Maureen Frank, 830-278-9151, mgfrank@tamu.edu Dr. John Tomecek, 325-650-3520, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Texas hunters…

New AgriLife Extension dairy specialist to be headquartered in Stephenville

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jennifer Spencer, 254-968-4144 ext. 233, jennifer.spencer@ag.tamu.edu STEPHENVILLE –  Dr. Jennifer Spencer joined the faculty at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 14, 2018

Uncertainty surrounds exports affecting Texas producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Luis Ribera, 979-845-3070, lribera@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Ongoing negotiations regarding the North American Free Trade Agreement and…

Ag Law in the Field program set for Sept. 17 in Nacogdoches

Lease agreements, estate planning, fence laws to be covered Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Ricky Thompson, 903-560-7711, ricky.thompson@ag.tamu.edu NACOGDOCHES – An Ag Law in the Field program, which will…

2018 Texas A&M Beef Tour Sept. 12-14 to give attendees access to top ranches, facilities

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Randy Reeves, 903-236-8429, randy.reeves@ag.tamu.edu LONGVIEW – A three-day educational tour of working cattle operations and Texas A&M AgriLife facilities across East and Central Texas…

Christmas tree growers to gather in Tyler Aug. 24-26

Workshop available for beginning, prospective growers Contacts: Bob Jones, 713-252-0634 Archie Abrameit, 512-922-0975 TYLER – The Texas Christmas Tree Growers Association and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in…

East Texas Fruit and Vegetable Conference Aug. 15 in Overton

Contact: Greg Grant, 903-590-2980, greg.grant@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON — The annual East Texas Fruit and Vegetable Conference on Aug. 15 in Overton will offer professional and amateur producers tips on everything from…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 7, 2018

Wine grape yields down due to drought, but good quality expected Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, m-cook@tamu.edu            Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu            Brianna Hoge,…

East Texas Regional Forage Conference set for Aug. 17 in Longview

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Randy Reeves, 903-236-8429, randy.reeves@ag.tamu.edu LONGVIEW – The annual East Texas Regional Forage Conference in Longview on Aug. 17 will cover a variety of topics…

New Texas A&M vice chancellor continues statewide tour of AgriLife facilities

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Texas A&M’s new vice chancellor and dean of agriculture and life sciences Dr. Patrick Stover continued his statewide tour at the Texas A&M…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 31, 2018

Pest numbers climbing in South Plains,Panhandle summer crops Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Infestations of damaging pests are increasing on corn,…

Winter pasture, stockpiled forage workshop to cover options amid drought

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Beef cattle producers can learn about different winter pasture and stockpiled forage options to help reduce winter…