Texas Crop and Weather Report

Consumers should find good prices, options for Fourth of July grilling Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu      Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –…

‘Basket of Fire’ pepper latest Texas Superstar release

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Russell Plowman, 806-834-0647, russell.d.plowman@ttu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A new pepper variety — Basket of Fire – which combines ornamental and edible variety characteristics, is…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 12, 2018

Texas watermelon, cantaloupe producers fare well due to growing conditions, demand Writer: Adam Russell, 903-348-4914, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu CARRIZO SPRINGS – Conditions have been ideal for…

Temple center welcomes producers, industry professionals during field day

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Tom Gerik, 254-774-6128, t-gerik@tamu.edu TEMPLE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center and U.S. Department of Agriculture Grassland Soil and Water…

AgriLife Extension agent transfers to Smith County

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Trevor King, 903-590-2980, trevor.king@ag.tamu.edu Trevor King, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service 4-H and youth development, Smith County. (Courtesy photo) TYLER – After three years…

Horticulture field day in Overton June 28 to feature hundreds of ornamental varieties

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Brent Pemberton, 903-834-6191, b-pemberton@tamu.edu OVERTON – The 2018 East Texas Horticultural Field Day will feature more than 500 ornamental plant and vegetable trial…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 5, 2018

Crop, cattle conditions declining around much of the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Curtis Adams, 940-552-9941, curtis.adams@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Emerging drought…

Students return to celebrate Randel’s 80th birthday

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ron Randel, 903-834-6191, ron.randel@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Rick Rhodes, environment and life sciences dean at the University of Rhode Island (left) and Dr. Ron Ranel,…

AgriLife Extension agent receives Texas Division of Emergency Management award

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Kelly Jobe, 409-283-8284, kelly.jobe@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Kelly Jobe, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service family and community health agent, Tyler County, received the 2018…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 30, 2018

Texas citrus growers produce bumper crop for 2018 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-348-4914, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu WESLACO – Texas citrus growers produced a bumper 2017-2018 crop, and…

Stewardship workshop for Texas landowners and contractors June 15 in Lampasas

Contact: Lisa Prcin, 254-774-6008, lprcin@brc.tamus.edu LAMPASAS – A brush management and land stewardship training workshop will be held June 15 in Lampasas in an effort to enhance environmental sustainability, contractor…

AgriLife Extension expert talks Bermuda grass 101

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Not all Bermuda grasses are created equal, but varieties are often confused as their own separate species, said…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 22, 2018

Corn, sorghum producers face weather, market uncertainties Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Corn and sorghum producers could be in for a…

AgriLife Extension Learn, Grow, Eat and Go! teacher training June 28 in Hallsville

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Matt Garrett, 903-935-8413, matt.garrett@ag.tamu.edu HALLSVILLE – A Learn, Grow, Eat and Go! teacher training event will be held June 28 in Hallsville.  Middle School…

Brittni Littlejohn receives 2018 Sorensen Achievement Award

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ron Randel, 903-834-6191, ron.randel@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Brittni Littlejohn, a Texas A&M University department of animal science graduate research assistant at the Texas A&M…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 15, 2018

Demand for sheep, goats remains high amid strong meat, wool, mohair markets Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The demand for sheep…

Path to Plate program June 5 in Kennard

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Larry Pierce, 903-834-6191, larry.pierce@ag.tamu.edu KENNARD –  A Path to the Plate – Dinner Tonight Healthy Cooking School will be presented by the Texas A&M…

AgriLife Extension expert: Grow tomatoes all season long

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Timing and variety choice can help tomato aficionados avoid production gaps during the dog days of summer,…

Viticulture Short Course set for June 4-5 in Bryan

Registration ends May 29 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Fran Pontasch, 979-458-0131, fmpontasch@tamu.edu BRYAN – A two-day Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service advanced viticulture short course is scheduled June…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 8, 2018

Interest in alternative crops remains steady despite lower prices for some Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Oilseed crops like sunflowers and canola…